Happy Interview: The Inspirational Gala Darling!

With a name like Gala Darling, there’s no way this New Zealand-born, New York-based blogger wasn’t going to be a rockstar of some sort. The proud creator of GalaDarling.com, this delightfully strong, sparkly, fabulous woman has provided me with hours of uplifting, honest and inspirational reading since I discovered her website back in 2011, and now Happies, I’m thrilled to say she’s here. On the Happiness Cocktail. Hooray!

I asked Gala to fill in the blanks so we could get a little insight into her busy life. Yes, she’s a blogger, but she also speaks, hosts, writes books and runs a blog academy, fulfilling her life purpose of flooding the world with radical self love. Her approach to life is similar to mine, as you’ll read below, and that’s why I think I resonated so strongly with her. She believes in looking fear in the eye, embracing change, living boldly and courageously and never letting anyone else take you down. She also loves kale, so you know, there’s no way I couldn’t love her.

Here she is…

Gala

Photo by Made U Look Photography!

Hi, my name is… Gala Darling!

I would describe my personality as…excitable and sparkly!

During the day I spend my time…writing, dreaming, adventuring, exploring…

While at night I…am usually causing mischief somewhere in New York City!

I live in New York but grew up in New Zealand, they’re different because…people approach life differently here. It’s hard to make it in New York City, so everyone dreams big, everyone has a goal, everyone has a purpose. I love the energy of the city so much!

I’ve dedicated my life’s work to…showing women that they have options, helping women become someone they only dreamed of being, and encouraging babes to be themselves, fully and passionately.

…and share my thoughts, passions and ideas via my website… galadarling.com and twitter and Facebook and Pinterest and Instagram.

The biggest lesson I’ve learned in life so far is…that the best things happen when you take risks.

The things that make me happiest are…travelling, writing, great music, working out and seeing the world as a place of infinite possibilities.

My favourite food is…kale! I am a complete kale addict.

The best advice I ever received was…that you should always be yourself. My parents drummed this into me as a kid and I believe it fiercely.

And the advice I’m going to share with you is…that no matter how scared of change you may be, it’s inevitable… So you might as well change your own circumstances on your own terms, as opposed to waiting for it.

If I could sum up my journey so far in three words they would be…magnificent, wicked, magical.

I see my future as...something wonderful.

Tell me Happies…

Does Gala make you want to live a better life, too?

Stay Happy,

Yaz xx

6 comments

  1. Pingback: Carousel: The Very Best Of April! | FFBlogs
  2. Gabi · April 27, 2013

    Great interview!

    I think I discovered Gala in 2011 too and I have been addicted every since! She is endlessly inspiring and I often while away the hours on her website.

    Also, kale is amazing! It’s the ultimate superfood!

    Gabi
    x

  3. Katelyn · April 29, 2013

    I LOVE Gala Darling. Her blog is so inspirational and she just seems like a really cool person. Thanks for the recommendation, Yaz

  4. Ashley · May 1, 2013

    Gah I love her soooo much 🙂 She’s so inspiring

    xo Ashley
    thetiniestfirecracker.com

  5. Ellen (@JeSuisHuck) · May 6, 2013

    I’m absolutely no fan of kale but I sure love Gala! This interview gives a nice insight on her world. Thank you for sharing it!
    Ellen xxx

  6. Maria @ Cheeky Pink Tulip · May 7, 2013

    I LOVE this girl! So great that you featured her!

    Maria xx
    http://www.cheekypinktulip.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

