New Trick To Try: Hot Water Guzzling

OK, I get that the thought of drinking plain, boiled water isn’t all that appealing but hear me out for just one second, Happies.

I’m currently learning about self-healing with Ayurvedic principles. It’s fascinating stuff and makes perfect sense to me. The concept is based on ancient traditions that take into account your dosha (body type) and how living a life in balance for your specific type is pretty much the only way to go. Unless, of course, you want to feel unwell, tired, bloated and so on. All common things us busy Westerners tend to feel on a daily basis.

One of the many healing tips I’ve learned is to sip PLAIN boiled water every 10 minutes for 2 weeks. No lemon. No honey. And definitely no tea. The idea being that by boiling off all the bacteria in the water and not adding anything else in for flavour, you’re providing your cells with pure H2O without them needing to physically do anything, like digest and process the lemon or the tea. Instead, your cells can suck up each sip and rehydrate. Like a sponge, essentially. Plus, this tip works for all doshas, so there’s no need to worry about what ‘type’ you are and whether this is suitable.

And so, in the spirit of trying things out for myself, I’m giving this a go. Today is my second day and already I feel more, well, fluid. The water is actually really easy to drink and by having it warm rather than cold it has a more soothing, calming affect on my body. Sounds odd, but true.

Keep Calm

So what are the benefits of rehydrating your cells? I mean, if we’re going to bother sipping all this water we may as well know it’s worth it. Well Happies, from a skincare point of view water is your light switch. Without it you’re never going to have healthy, radiant, glowing skin simply because it’s not lubricated or hydrated enough. Your skin cells need water to function, purge, detox, balance, rejuvenate… you name it, your skin cells need water for it. It helps detoxify your blood of impurities, ergo, making you G.L.O.W!

But it’s not just your skin cells that benefit from increased hydration. Your lymphatic system craves water. Good old H2O helps balance these glands and nodes that help purify the body and remove waste products and toxins. Water also helps lube up the colon so that you keep regular and flowing, something we definitely all want to do. On top of that, water also helps increase production of new blood and muscle cells, so you know, it’s pretty bloody important.

So, if you’re finding you’re a little dehydrated with summer, up your H2O with pure hot water to feed your cells and increase your body’s productivity. I’ll let you know how I feel after 2 weeks, but so far, so good!

Tell me Happies…

Do you drink hot, boiled water?

Do you want to?

Stay Happy,

Yaz x

3 comments

  1. Alicia · February 22, 2013

    Well… This might sounds weird but I actually had a craving for plain boiled water the other day! Kind of. I wanted to sip on something but nothing was appealing to me, so I tried it thinking what a wierd thing to do and surprised myself with how nice it was! On a side note I have also previously been advised to stick to warm drinks, avoid all cold stuff, to soothe my tummy. It really does help!

  2. teresa · February 22, 2013

    It’s also a very Chinese thing to do — something about balancing energy and being better for digestion than cold water πŸ™‚

  3. winterlust · March 3, 2013

    Looks like that’ll be me this week! I’ve been drinking warm water with lemon every morning the past week but the lemon has made my throat feel really dry and yuck.

Leave a Reply

