Bugger Food For a Minute, Let’s Indulge In Life

Be honest with me here; do you ever get so confused with what you should be eating that you toss your hands in the air and think you may as well not have anything at all?

I’m not surprised. As a Health Coach in training one of the biggest things I’m learning is that nutrition isn’t an exact science. In fact, it’s so completely opposing that it’s almost impossible to navigate clearly one way or another. Each diet or philosophy has its merits, but to say that one option is perfect for everyone is unrealistic.

The only belief that I subscribe to is that chemicals and processed food is best avoided, and that vegetables should be your best friend. All the other stuff I dip in and out of depending on what suits my body, and generally speaking, when I’m eating wholefoods and stacks of vegies, I feel pretty bloody good.

But health isn’t just about what you eat. To be honest, food is only a small part of the pumpkin pie. And if you’re looking for a simple way to be healthy without making your head spin, there is something you can do every day that requires nothing but mindfulness and a commitment to treat yourself – focus on health as a whole!

Think about this for a second. How is your health and happiness affected when you are exercising regularly, have some kind of spiritual practice like meditation, your relationships are flourishing, healthy and open in communication, and your career is in line with your life purpose? Have you ever had all four of those components in line? If so, what did it feel like? If not, how do you imagine you’d feel? Pretty amazing, right? Too right.

balance

When all these are in harmony, not only do you want to eat clean, healthy foods anyway, but your life as a whole seems to flourish. You are in balance, and essentially that’s what we should all be striving for. Not how to tip the scales in your favour, or whether to eat dairy or not, or if eating fruits on a sugar-free diet is cheating. Of course, it’s important to think about what you put in your mouth and nourish your body from the inside, but when you solely focus on this one aspect, all the other far more important elements can be completely ignored.

My advice? Start assessing these other areas – career, spirituality, exercise and relationships – and see where your life lacks balance. For me, I know I need to get back to meditating daily. I have no idea why, but recently I’ve just started making excuses as to why I can’t do it. There’s just something stopping me from sitting down each morning. I need to overcome this and get back on the train because lately, I’ve been feeling more frazzled, unsettled and confused than normal. Clearly, I need grounding. Or maybe I need to eat more root vegetables. Oh wait…

Tell me Happies…
What do you need more of in your life?
What areas need working on?
Or are you perfectly balanced?

2 comments

  1. Jessica · February 13, 2013

    This is a lovely story Yaz, i feel like no matter what you are eating there is always somebody to criticise or oppose your beliefs. It’s all about do whats right for hey!!

  2. yourhealthyourlife · February 13, 2013

    Love this. Health certainly is all the little ‘bits’ of our life… not just one factor.
    A great message to spread and a good reminder for us all!
    * What do I need more of? Sleep
    * What do I need to work on? Work/life balance (I take a LOT of work home)
    * Perfectly balances? No, definitely not. Is anyone? B I’m aware of it and I work on it – I think that’s the best strategy (for me!)

Leave a Reply

