In the Game of Comparison, I Never Win

Are you a chronic comparer? Go on, admit it. I used to be. I used to look at all the fabulous people around me and play the comparison game. Let’s just say I never won. Oh no, instead I just felt like shit all the time and wasted far too much energy looking outwards rather than focusing on what really mattered – my path!

Yet again it was my guru (read: husband) who reminded me that as long as you compare yourself to others, you’re never going to be happy. And what a truth that is. Taking a small snippet of someone’s life and comparing it to where you’re at is completely ridiculous when you say it out loud. Don’t you think? Who knows how they got there, what they had to endure to meet their fortunes, and hey, who knows what lies ahead for you, too. Right? Too right.

269653096410562892_ANzCO9cG_cImage via Pinterest

I don’t play that game anymore. Sure, my mind tries to tease me and wander down the path once skipped, but I remind myself that there’s never a rainbow at the end, rather a storm cloud that hangs over you and veers you off course. I quickly learned that the more energy I put into other people’s situations, the less I’m putting into my own. Screw that! It’s all about me baby. And those awesome people around me are awesome and inspirational and fabulous. But hey, so am I. As are you.

252272016597800014_Khaz7eOL_c

Tell me Happies…

Do you play the comparison game?

Do you ever win?

8 comments

  1. Steph · January 24, 2013

    Just what I needed to read today. Thanks Yaz (and your guru!).

  2. cloudy with a chance of sarai · January 24, 2013

    THANK YOU for this post Yaz! I was just having this thought about 15 minutes before I read this. My mind tries to play tricks on me all too often and starts to veer me in the comparison direction. I am much better at catching myself now though, and reminding myself that comparisons don’t work…for anyone. This page will be bookmarked and read often! πŸ™‚

  3. allthingsfabulousblog · January 24, 2013

    LOVE this post! Such wise words, and oh so true!! Everyone’s story is different and life would be boring if we all went down the same path. Everything happens for a reason and makes you who you are. LOVING “my” life πŸ™‚

  4. winterlust · January 24, 2013

    I pretty much live by the quote, “Comparison is a thief of joy”

    Life is too short not to enjoy the life you’ve been blessed with x

  5. Niki · January 27, 2013

    Totally resonate with this post. The age of facebook has made not playing the comparison game difficult. I think it all starts with us – being happy with yourself and grateful for what you have so that it doesn’t really matter what someone else has. I’m really going to focus on doing my own thing this year and being happy with my decisions rather than feeling like I have to live up to a certain image. I’m also going to celebrate other people’s success and see it as an inspiration rather than allow it to make me feel inadequate. xx

  6. Sindhu · February 1, 2013

    Comparisons should not be benchmarks. We are not in competition with each other; we are seeking to live peacefully amongst each other. Of course comparisons are inevitable in many situations but we need to be mindful not to let it drag us down with negative force – instead, use it as inspiration to generate some positivity to get ourselves to a better place.

    Excellent entry. I really enjoyed it. πŸ™‚

  7. Yaz Trollope · February 4, 2013

    Thanks for all your great feedback. It’s so hard to not compare, right? I think just being aware of it is the first step, from there, we can actively make choices. Have a beautiful (non-comparey) day! Yxx

  8. buckley12apple · March 19, 2013

    You have no idea how much reading this post means to me atm 😦 thankyou Yas x

Leave a Reply

