Behold The World’s Best Buckwheat Pancakes

There’s nothing better than waking up on Sunday morning and whipping yourself up some scrumptious, healthy pancakes. Oh wait, there might be one thing better and that’s if someone else was to whip them up for you.

Alas, I wasn’t so lucky this week with a hubby in bed with gastro. So, I took it upon myself to get cooking.

It all started with The Healthy Chef, Teresa Cutter’s, Buckwheat Pancake recipe that asks you to have on hand…

  • 145 g  milk ( rice, almond, dairy, seed)  weigh the milk into a bowl.
  • 50 g buckwheat flour
  • 50 g ground almond meal
  • 20 g ground flax seed (linseed)
  • 10 g sunflower seed
  • 10 g pumpkin seed
  • half teaspoon bicarb soda (baking soda)
  • 1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar

Luckily, I had most of these things in my cupboard but did have to improvise a little. I ground down a stack of whole almonds as I didn’t have almond meal, leaving them decadently chunky. I used almond milk and only had sunflower seeds as we’d thrown all our pumpkin and flax into our homemade muesli. However, it still worked a treat.

I simply threw all the ingredients into a bowl and gently stirred to combine. Then, I added coconut oil to a pan on medium heat and scooped neat little spoonfuls of buckwheaty goodness in the centre, allowing each ‘cake to cook for around 3-4 minutes on each side. This may vary depending on your cooktop, obviously.

Here’s how they turned out…

Buckwheat_pancakes

BuckwheatPancakes1

As you  can see they’re wonderfully festive in colour. I served them with crushed walnuts, strawberries, banana and a drizzle of raw honey. But I’ll be making them again and can’t wait to try more combinations. Pure maple syrup with mango and nuts, or figs with mascarpone and mint springs to mind. Oh, the options.

Tell me Happies…

What do you think of these buckwheat delights?
Going to give them a shot?

2 comments

  1. memybestandi · December 20, 2012

    Yum – have saved this for when I get up to my local organic store that I know have buckwheat flour. Saw another recipe for banana pancakes on Pinterest. 1 ripe banana mixed with 2eggs – that’s all! Might try that while I wait to get the buckwheat now I have the desire to gorge on pancakes which I blaming you entirely for!

  2. Sam · May 27, 2013

    How beautiful! I’ve been searching for buckwheat pancakes for longer than I’d care to admit and these look lovely

Leave a Reply

