I made peanut butter, you should too

There’s plenty of goodness in peanut butter. It’s high in protein, B vitamins, calcium, iron, folate and even magnesium, and is a delicious addition to celery. Sure, the peanuts are roasted and other options are probably healthier (raw almond butter, cashew butter etc), but there’s something so child-like about the old PB.

But, like so many packaged foods these days the humble peanut butter has been rammed with added salt, sugar, processed oils and preservatives to ensure it lasts for years on end. Some brands only contain 70-80% peanuts, with the other portion being snatched away by things that don’t need to be there. Like palm oil. Or some sort of ‘gum’.

So I’ve decided to make my own, carefully leaving in the necessary ingredients, and ditching everything else. My sister did this same thing a few weeks ago and raved about it, so now, it’s my turn.

Here’s what I added…

1 x cup of roasted unsalted peanuts
1 x pinch of himalayan rock salt
1 x drizzle of rice bran oil (or any other oil that has little flavour. Not olive oil)
1 x teaspoon of raw honey for sweetness (optional)

And here’s how I did it…

Place all ingredients into a blender or food processor and slowly add oil as you blend. In my case, I had to put a lid on, so just took the lid off between whizzes.

Here’s my nuts in a whizzer…

When done, place into an airtight container and store in the fridge. It should look something like this…

Tell me Happies…

Do you like PB?
Want to make it?

Stay happy,

Yaz x

4 comments

  1. Me my best and I · September 21, 2012

    You are the only other person I’ve ever come across that loves peanut butter & celery together. Everyone else looks at me in disgust like I’m cray. Love PB, AB, ABCB – them all!!

  2. Naomi · September 22, 2012

    This looks amazing. I’ve been trying to find a decent peanut butter for my son (and for me) but haven’t had much success. This sounds like the solution! Yum yum yum

  3. Tess Ross · September 22, 2012

    I LOVE peanut ‘paste’ as we call it here in Queensland! And I love it with celery too. But just last night before going to bed, I got out the peanut paste and took a teaspoon dose because I was hankering for something nice!

  4. Yaz Trollope · September 24, 2012

    Thanks guys, so happy you like it. I also love PB with alfalfa sprouts. Sounds weird but is a taste sensation on fresh grainy bread. Yx

Leave a Reply

