It’s Spring. Clean.

There’s something in the air, Happies. It’s like the moment spring sprang up, my head just knew what to do. Filled with a sudden surge of energy, my hubby and I had an urge to clean. Throw. Toss. Remove any unnecessary junk from our life. And  that’s we did. ALL DAY yesterday.

And what an amazing feeling it is to remove the clutter from your life. I remember having this same feeling when we were packing up to go overseas last year. I came to the conclusion that possessions were overrated, and since then I’ve made a conscious effort to not bring excess back into my home, and therefore, my life.

But life is life and slowly but surely little pieces of paper, clothes, work pamphlets and yep, even pointless stainless steel platters that come as a gift with purchase, make their way back into your once clutter-free home.

If you too are being swallowed by meaningless clutter that has no sentimental value, here are three tips on giving your space a spring clean.

1. PLAN & SET A DATE

This is a big project that requires time, energy and the right head space. If you’re trying to clean certain parts of your home on different days, you end up being surrounded by organised chaos that can make you even more stressed. The point of this entire exercise is to ‘cleanse’ your home so that you feel free, light, organised and clear headed. So, approach it that way. Set aside an entire day or weekend where you know you have nothing on. If you can split the tasks with a friend or partner, great, but if not simply work through the house room by room. With each completed space you should have the energy to keep going – and do keep going. Once you stop that momentum can be lost for goodness knows how long!

2. PREPARE TO LET GO!

Sometimes it’s hard to let go of things. There’s that little niggling voice in your head that wants you to believe that one day you might just need that (insert item you haven’t used, worn or looked at in years). YOU DON’T! Set rules and stick to them. If I haven’t worn or used or enjoyed something for six months, I let it go. It serves no purpose to me. Chuck it out, sell it or give it away for free. Whatever you do, just let it go.

3. LEARN FROM YOUR SPRING CLEAN

Once you’ve finished the sense of accomplishment should be overwhelming. As should your sense of inner freedom. Hold onto this feeling and really consider things before you buy them. Do you really need it? Or are you just buying it for the sake of it? If in doubt, mull over it for a few days and see if it’s worthy of a place in your life. More often than not I find I don’t need it after all.

If you need a little more prodding, I highly recommend watching this. It will blow you mind…

Tell me Happies…

Do you need to spring clean your life?

Stay Happy,

Yaz x

4 comments

  1. naomicot · September 2, 2012

    Happy spring Yaz! You must have crawled inside my head overnight as I woke up with the exact same urge. Itching to get stuck into the boxes and boxes of random stuff in the bathroom (seriously, how can a room the size of a wardrobe accumulate so much refuse?). Just need to find a way to keep the 7 month old entertained.. 😉

  2. winterlust · September 2, 2012

    What a great post! Really enjoyed that video. I started my spring cleaning early in July, I’m trying to get rid of 1,000 things (I’m over 300 already!)

  3. Sweet Mama M · September 2, 2012

    I love decluttering and putting everything in the right place. I’m right in the middle of a wardrobe cull and already I feel so much more free! I own much less but everything I own is fabulous 🙂

  4. Georgia · September 4, 2012

    I’ve done three wardrobe culls this year, with at least one more to come! The bathroom was attacked only a couple of months ago but it’s the kitchen I always have issues with … Great post Yaz, I love your blog!

Leave a Reply

