The Cold Kickers: Seven Cold & Flu Remedies I Live By

Well, I thought I’d made it. I thought, despite the odds, I’d escaped the cold and flu season unharmed. That’s what happens when you call a win too early.

Forget the Olympics, for the past four or so days I’ve been going round for round with a cold/flu that’s seen my head pounding, my nose dripping and my chest wheezing. It’s a showdown like no other. Right now, I’m on top.

But like any individual gold medalist, I have a team of hidden gems behind me to ensure I get to the top of the podium in record-breaking time. Let’s meet them, shall we?

*Group Hug*

Clockwise from centre:Β 

1. Organic Alkalising Wheat Grass
If you’re not across my appreciation for alkalising your system, you may not know that I start my mornings with this tasty powder and water. By keeping your body’s pH in balance, or just slightly alkaline, you create an environment that disease and sickness don’t like. Ergo, making your cold/flu disappear even faster. Brilliant!

2. Leafy Greens
Forget heavy meals when you’re sick, the best remedy is a light diet packed with vegetables. Known for their abundance of phytonutrients to help ward off illness, leafy greens such as spinach, kale and silverbeet are high on my ‘to eat’ list.

3. Ginger
A firm favourite amongst our Ayurvedic friends, ginger is a medicine cupboard of goodness. Helping everything from your sinuses to aiding the absorption of vital nutrients (a plus when you’re sick), ginger is also a well-known anti-inflammatory that helps with any muscle aches and pains. I add it to my tea with lemon and raw honey for a quick pick-me-up when I’m feeling down.

4. Lemon
Another ancient favourite, the trusty lemon is packed with Vitamin C to amp up your immune system as well as magnesium, calcium and other much-needed vitamins and minerals that carry antibacterial and antiviral properties with them. Add lemon to warm water with honey and ginger for a flu-fighting drink worthy of a gold medal.

5. Probiotics
Seventy per cent of your immune system is held in your digestive system. So, it would make sense to treat your gut as kindly as possible to ward off illness, or beat it quickly if it comes along. I take high quality probiotics every morning to give a surge of healthy bacteria to an area that needs it most.

6. Garlic
Another powerful healer, garlic helps reduce inflammation in the gut (see previous point and give me a high five), fight infection and stimulate your immune system. All things you want when you’re run down. I eat mine raw over pretty much everything.

7. Organic Olive Leaf Extract
An antioxidant-packed flu-fighter, this little treat is my saving grace when I’m feeling run down. As soon as I feel the niggling signs of a cold and flu, I start taking this daily to boost my immunity. Have it on its own or add it to salads, smoothies or juice. Just have it!

Tell me Happies…

What are your cold busting tricks?

Yaz x

6 comments

  1. Linds · August 8, 2012

    Good to know about the olive leaf extract! These are all great suggestions. I wish more people followed them rather than reaching for medication first. I do the lemon/ginger/water thing often and as soon as I start feeling a sore throat coming on I take drops of Oregano Oil and it’s a lifesaver. Great post!

  2. brightworm · August 11, 2012

    I am so big on remedies. My mom has always used them on me and I have followed suit…I love the suggestions and will bookmark them for when I get sick…which I hope is not in the near future! πŸ™‚

  3. eskimojo · August 11, 2012

    Ginger + lemon make up part of my hubby’s Magic Mix: a couple of tablespoons of grated ginger, grated or peeled rind + juice of 3 limes and 2 lemons, a tablespoon of honey and 3-4cups water – all in a small saucepan, cook it down for half an hour and drink as supercharged Lemsip. you can keep topping up the water throughtput the day, or more ginger/citris/honey once it’s diluted. So good for a yukky throat and groggy head!

  4. Pingback: Sunday Sparkle: 11th August « Beast & Beauty
  5. Anonymous · August 12, 2012

    That olive leaf isn’t organic! It is made from reconstituted leaves from china and fermented papaya – yuk! Give me fresh olive leaf any day!

  6. exhilaratedliving · August 19, 2012

    i love how you mentioned leafy greens–I truly believe healthy eating plays a huge part in staying healthy. i’ve been eating a plant-based diet high in fruits and vegetables for some time and can’t remember the last time i was sick!

Leave a Reply

