Three Unexpected Ways With Coconut Oil

It’s the standout health product of 2012 but coconut oil does much more than add delicious flavour to your food. Yep, it’s a damn good beauty product, too. Here are three totally unexpected ways to get more oil in your tank.

1. Use it to fight frizz and deep condition your hair. 

Coconut oil leaves other leave-in conditioners for dead. Seriously! Simply grab a teaspoon of oil and warm it in your palms before applying it to your ends. Comb the oil through and leave on your hair overnight or in a top knot throughout the day. The longer you leave it in, the better. When it comes time to rinse it out, use a sulphate and paraben-free option as they’ll be less drying in the hair. Oh, and if you’re suffering dandruff in this cold, dry weather, massage it into your scalp as well.

2. Slather it on as a moisturiser.

Image courtesy of Ellen Rowlands/Pinterest

Your skin absolutely loves oil. Especially when it’s all natural, cold-pressed and smells like a Caribbean vacay. Again, warm the oil in your palms before slathering it evenly all over your body. Leave it a few minutes to dry and carry on with the rest of your day. Heaven!

3. Use it to combat candida.

Image courtesy of mindfuctory.com

Alright ladies, let’s get down to business. If candida keeps creeping up on you and you’re over those chemical-laden suppositories, try this all-natural alternative: gently heat 1 tablespoon of coconut so that it’s a liquid and pour into a small bowl. Now, add 1-2 drops of pure tea tree oil to the bowl and stir. Place the mixture into the fridge (or freezer if you need it quickly) and let it set hard again. Once hard, remove the mixture from the bowl and insert like you would a tampon. Repeat for a few days or until symptoms subside.

Tell me Happies…

How do you use your coconut oil?
Any of these ways interest you?

Stay Happy,

Yaz xx

3 comments

  1. Sandra · July 31, 2012

    Hi Yaz! I use coconut oil to take off my makeup, you don’t even have to melt it (from the cold white hard state it goes in Winter), just scoop up a chunk (and I drop some jojoba oil into my hands aswell) and start rubbing it into on your face. It will melt in about .02 seconds on contact with your skin and remove all your sunscreen and makeup from the day, just as good as results as Dermalogica Precleanse (but a mineral oil free, organic alternative – yay!). And then I go and use it in my dinner, versatile indeed… xx

  2. Lucy · August 9, 2012

    Hi Yaz! Have you heard much about the oil pulling method? I want to try this out myself – though the thought of it all grosses me out a bit I have to say…but apparently doing it with coconut oil is the ‘tastiest’ option!

  3. Kiki · April 25, 2013

    I’m doing a coconut oil pull as I read this. Honestly, I like the flavor of the oil in my mouth and I feel like I’m doing something positive for my body when I do it, but convincing myself to do it every day can be a little hard. People look at you strangely when you’re swishing oil around in your mouth, and inevitably someone wants to talk the same moment I put it in. Overall, I haven’t seen any specific benefits, but it’s something worth trying 🙂

Leave a Reply

