Friday Feast: Organic Mince with Silverbeet and Turkish Spices

I would apologise for my lack of posts this week, but I’ve been unloading and rebalancing (as opposed to overloading) and since my post on this exact topic last week, I feel that it’s OK.

However, I would like to give you a big, warm eHug to say thanks for checking in and to do that, I’m going to share this magical recipe with all of you, Happies.

My dad has been making this meal my whole life. Its Turkish name is ispanak, which translates to ‘spinach’ in English. The Turkish way is to make it with lamb mince, but I had some gorgeous organic beef mince in the fridge so went with that instead. Yummo!

Here’s the visual…

And here’s what you need to make it yourself…

500g of beef mince
1 x bunch of silverbeet (or English spinach, or kale) – finely chopped
2 x large brown onions – finely chopped
2 x garlic cloves – finely chopped
2 x carrots – finely chopped
3 x tomatoes or 1 x can of tomatoes
1 x tablespoon of tomato paste
1 x teaspoon of ground coriander, cumin and smoked paprika
1/2 x teaspoon of cayenne pepper
salt and pepper to taste

Optional – 100g of soaked chickpeas.

And here’s what you need to do…

1. Brown the onion in olive oil in a large, heavy based pot and let sweat. After a few minutes, add the garlic.

2. Once the onion is translucent, add the mince.

3. When the mince is cooked through, add all the spices, salt and pepper and stir through. Taste to make sure the balance of flavours is good.

4. Now, add the tomato paste, tomatoes and carrots and stir through. If you’re adding chickpeas, now’s the time to throw them in as well. Cover and turn down heat, leaving to simmer for 30 minutes.

5. Once the 30 minutes is up, open the lid, throw in your washed and chopped silverbeet and keep uncovered for another 5 minutes or so. Serve with brown rice and seaweed and enjoy!

Tell me Happies…

What do you think of this meal? Yummy?

Stay Happy,

Yaz x

4 comments

  1. Jennifer Mogg · July 6, 2012

    It does look yummy! I will give it a try very soon. Thanks! PS Don’t worry about taking some “me” time – you just have to do it – and not feel guilty about it! Though do miss reading your posts :o)

  2. Alexandra · July 9, 2012

    I made this last night and it is amazing. What a taste sensation! And as an added bonus is super easy to put together. I was a little nervous as I’m new to playing with Moroccan flavours but I believe you just hooked me for life. This will definitely be going on high rotation in our house, thanks Yaz!

  3. Pingback: The Cold Kickers: Seven Cold & Flu Remedies I Live By | The Happiness Cocktail
  4. Anonymous · August 12, 2013

    Absolutely Yummy!!! I made this tonight. I didn’t have any Carrots so I put a bit of Cabbage in instead. I didn’t have any canned or fresh tomatoes so i put a bit of Tomato Passata (Puree) in instead. Thanks this will be a family favourite especially since my 3 1/2 year old loved it!!! Cheers 🙂

Leave a Reply

