15 Minute Dinner: Brown Rice Sushi Rolls with Asian Salad

When I get a hankering for Japanese, the flawless flavours of miso, seaweed and sesame can’t escape me. I just…need them. Clearly, I’m a lover of Japanese food. But I’ve never dared make it myself at home, instead heading off to one of the many amazing Japanese restaurants here in Sydney.

Until last night.

Last night I noticed I had all the ingredients to whip up a quick Japanese-inspired meal. Nori sheets, brown rice with seaweed and sesame seeds that I’d made earlier, Asian cabbage, miso paste…THE LOT.

Here’s what I whipped up…Β 

And here’s what I used…

3 x Japanese Nori Sheets
1 x can sustainably fished tuna
2 x tablespoons of whole egg mayo (you can leave this out but it was a welcomed addition)
1/2 x spanish onion (finely chopped)
1/2 x cup cooked brown rice with seaweed and sesame seeds mixed through
2 x x small avocados (cut into slices)
1/2 x Chinese cabbage (finely chopped)
3 x silverbeet leaves (finely chopped)
1 x red capsicum (finely chopped into long sticks)
1 x teaspoon of miso paste
1/2 x teaspoon of honey
2 x gluts of Bragg’s apple cider vinegar
1 x glug of pure sesame oil
1 x glug of soy sauce (for dipping)

And here’s how I made it…

Step 1: Make the salad by throwing the finely chopped cabbage, silverbeet and capsicum into a large bowl. If you have some fresh herbs, chuck them in too. Pour your apple cider vinegar over the vege to help soften while you prepare the rest of your meal.

Step 2: Now, make the salad dressing by dissolving the white miso paste in a little bit of warm water. Stir to remove any lumps. Once the miso is all dissolved, add your sesame oil and honey and stir together. Wait until your sushi is rolled before pouring over salad.

Step 3: Throw the tuna, mayo and finely chopped spanish onion into a bowl and mix together to form a creamy filling for your rolls. Of course, you can put anything in them, I was just using what we had in the cupboard at the time.

Step 4: Next, it’s time to start rolling. I don’t have one of those fancy bamboo rollers, but I found the sushi was firmly packed and OK without one. Simply lay your nori roll out onto a flat surface (I used a chopping board), then pat down a handful of rice so that it goes all the way to the edges and covers half the nori roll. I think they usually put the rice all over the nori, but I didn’t want that much rice. Next, cover the rice in tuna mixture, add your avocado on top and roll the nori as tightly as possible. Cut with a sharp knife.

Step 5: Serve your rolls with the salad and pour the dressing over the top. On the side I had a little dipping bowl with a dash of sesame oil, vinegar and a few gluts of soy. YUMMO!

Do you cook Japanese at home? Do you want to now?

Stay Happy,

Yaz x

3 comments

  1. Sophie · June 23, 2012

    I read this last night + surpisingly had all of the ingredients in my cupboard. they were delicious and i had a few left over to pack for lunch today.

  2. Pingback: The Brown Rice Basics | The Happiness Cocktail

Leave a Reply

