Make These Muffins. No Seriously, Make Them

Not to sound pushy, but these are the best bloody muffins I’ve ever eaten.

Here’s the backstory…

I had my family around for a belated Mother’s Day brunch on Sunday and my mum loves muffins. The thing is, she doesn’t care for all the butter and sugar and white flour that often comes with them. Well, she does but her waistline doesn’t. So, she begged me to make her healthy muffins.

So, I did. And they looked like this*…

And were made like this…

1 apple (Granny smith or pink lady)
2 bananas
2 cups of soaked raisins
3 tbls of cinnamon
2 tbls of maple syrup
1 tbls of raw honey
1 cup of ground flax seeds
1 cup of finely chopped coconut meat
2 tsp of bicarb soda
250g (2.5 cups) of buckwheat flour
250g (2.5 cups) of wholemeal or spelt flour
450ml of water

Mix all the dry ingredients in one bowl, then, add the fruit, honey, maple syrup and water. Gently stir until the mixture is nicely mixed, but not overworked and spoon mixture into muffin tin. Bake at 180 degrees celcius for about 15-20 minutes. If you’re unsure they’re cooked, poke them with a wooden skewer. If it comes out clean, they’re done. If it’s sticky, they need longer.

You may need to add more water as the buckwheat flour really soaks it up. It’s best to have the mixture slightly runny, rather than thick and dry. So play around with the consistency.

And served with this…

1. Stewed rhubarb (I cooked it with lemon, maple syrup and water and let it slowly bubble down to a nice saucy compote).
2. Tahini with honey.

And ended up like this…

*Disclaimer: That frosty looking stuff on the muffins is, in fact, frost. I forgot to take a picture of said muffins when they were all steamy and delicious looking as they came out of the oven, so had to settle for this poor cousin shot of them now. As they don’t have any preservatives, they go stale in about 3.5 seconds, so as soon as you’re done with them pop them in the freezer and pull out when desired. Let them defrost naturally, stick them in the oven or toaster, or nuke them for 1 minute. Whatever works for you!

What do you think, Happies? Yummy?

Stay Happy,

Yaz xx

4 comments

  1. hollybracken · May 23, 2012

    Oh yes I will! Tell me more about the apple? Was it cooked, grated, chopped? I’ll try it with brown rice flour rather than gluteny flour (for the bf). Maybe almond meal would be nice too? Or coconut flour? I’ll have a play and let you know … Thanks!

    • Yaz Trollope · May 23, 2012

      Yes, yes, yes! These are the flours I had the cupboard but of course, replace them with anything you like. I chopped the apples 2 ways: finely and chunky and I preferred the chunky option. It’s just raw chopped apple and banana thrown in the bowl. SO EASY. SO TASTY! Let me know how you go. My husband said he’s going to buy me a baking tin as a ‘present’ after making these. Haha! I think it’s more a present for him so I can start baking more muffins and cakes, than it is for me. Cheeky bugger πŸ˜‰ Enjoy!

  2. Annette @ Wellness WA · May 23, 2012

    Oh awesome!!! Is there a trick to getting a bunch of finely chopped coconut meat? I find it hard to scrape off the coconut. Yum πŸ™‚ X

  3. Pingback: I bought a coconut, now what? | The Happiness Cocktail

Leave a Reply

