Happy Reads: Cookbooks and Food Sites Worth Checking Out…NOW!

Cookbooks are my crack.

Yep, I love everything about them. The pretty pictures, the inspiration, the little bubble of excitement I get in my belly when I see something and think ‘Shit! I’m totally going to make that’ and the sense of pride that fills my loins when I actually do.

But here’s the thing with me and cookbooks. Or recipes rather. I cannot follow them to the T. Impossible. I start getting all Heston Blumenthal and add, remove, recreate and put a good dose of Yaz into everything I cook. Sometimes for the worse, but often, for the better.

Either way, I simply couldn’t live without them. So, here are the top 5 cookbooks and foodie websites that send me into a flurry of excitement…

1. Wholefood by Jude Blereau

Jude is a bit of a legend in the wholefood world. Her recipes are super easy, tasty and packed with ingredients that you know are good for you. This was my first wholefood cookbook and I continue to refer to it weekly. It doesn’t have many (if any) pictures, but the recipes sound so good you don’t miss them at all.

Favourite recipe: Vegetarian Moussaka

2. Clean Food by Terry Walters

I came across this book in New York and had it sent to Australia so it was waiting for me when I arrived home. It’s wonderful! Terry introduces her recipes by the season, making seasonal eating simple, healthy, and easy to understand. I also find her recipes great for mid-week meals as there aren’t too many ingredients in them.

Favourite recipe: Root veggie fries

3. Food 52

Created by New York-based uber-foodiesΒ AmandaΒ Hesser and Merrill Stubbs, Food 52 is the food lover’s Disneyland. It is a beautiful site, with amazing recipes, lots of gorgeous pics and an endless list of need-to-make meals.

Favourite recipes: One pot kale and quinoa pilaf

4. The Kitchen Garden Companion by Stephanie Alexander

In my (imaginary) mind I don’t live in a townhouse in the eastern suburbs of Sydney, I in fact live on a large property in the country with a kitchen garden that’s flourishing. Of course, due to all my spare time, I need to consult this kitchen garden manual to find out when to plant, grow, harvest, chop and cook the abundance of fresh produce out the back so that dinner is served every night. From the ingredients in the garden.Β I turn to this extensive guide for recipe inspiration and learning more about gardening. Because one day, I’ll need to know.

Favourite recipe: Baghdad eggs on simple flatbread

5. The Alkaline Sisters

They say you eat with your eyes and this site captures that mantra flawlessly. Pops of bright colour entice you to try each and every one of their healthy recipes, and best of all, they’re ALKALINE forming, too. A feast for your eyes. Literally.

Favourite recipe: Alkaline Green Smoothie

Tell me…

What do you guys think of these books and sites?
Do you have any you’d like to share?

Stay Happy,

Yaz xx

5 comments

  1. Mmmm. These sound positively amazing, Yaz! (How delicious does ‘one pot kale and quinoa pilaf’ sound?! EXTREMELY!)

  2. hollybracken · May 21, 2012

    Hey Yaz. My favourite recipe in the Stephanie Alexander is Baghdad Eggs too! Except we serve it on 100% corn tortillas because my man has coeliac disease. Garlic, eggs, cumin, lemon juice, so yum!

    • Yaz Trollope · May 21, 2012

      Yum! I switch the plain flour around for wholemeal or spelt and it’s super tasty. It’s such a great breakfast recipe, isn’t it? YUM! Oh, and Corrine – totally into the one pot wonders. In fact, I might have to do a whole post on my favourite one pot wonder recipes. Yxx

  3. Claire · May 22, 2012

    So much inspiration as always Yaz! Below is one of my favourite blogs; it has great links to other wonderful food blogs too. Love this site, keep posting πŸ™‚

    http://mynewroots.blogspot.com.au/

Leave a Reply

