Happy Moments: An Interview with Emma Seibold

Show of hands if you’ve ever done an Urban Remedy Juice Cleanse?

Awesome. Me too. Oh, your hands are still down. OK, show of hands if you’ve heard of Urban Remedy Juice Cleanse? Aha, that’s the majority, I think.

Well, Happies, meet Emma Seibold. She was the founder of Urban Remedy and has now moved to Melbourne and onto her next venture – Barre Body – a studio-based workout that combines ballet moves with yoga and promises a body that would make Elle Macpherson jel.

Here she is…

I’ve known Emma for a few years now and have always been blown away by her fearlessness. This girl gets an idea, and does it. No ifs, no buts, no hassle, no fanfare. She’s an inspiration to us all.

So, in the hope that some of her awesomeness would rub off on me (and hopefully you, too) I sent across some questions. Here’s how it went down…

Me: You are clearly a business powerhouse. You founded Urban Remedy Cleanse and your latest venture, Barre Body, seems like it was set up overnight. What makes you so fearless when it comes to taking the plunge?

ES: You flatter me (don’t stop). The opportunity to start Urban Remedy Cleanse came at a time when the rest of my life had fallen apart. In the space of one month my relationship broke up, we sold our house and I took a voluntary redundancy from my job. I was, in theory, homeless, newly single at almost 30 and facing a point in my career where I no longer wanted to work in fashion marketing. I went to India (just eat pray and eat again, no love) and decided to start Urban Remedy Cleanse because the universe presented the opportunity to me and what position was I in to say no? Sometimes you just have to trust your instinct.

Barre Body was a different story. I had just had a baby and started blending my barre workouts with my yoga practice and loved it so much (and got such amazing results) that I toyed with the idea of creating Barre Body. My partner (though I prefer “baby-daddy”) is what my mum calls “a magical thinker” and he encouraged me to follow my instinct and passion and just do it. So I did it. We found the perfect space within endota spa and it just grew from there. So in answer to your question, I don’t know if I’m fearless, it’s more like I’m a believer and I’ve learnt to trust my intuition.

Me: What advice do you have for other women (and guys) who have brilliant ideas but a fear holding them back from realising their dreams?

ES: Play with the idea. Start to work on it, even if you have no intention of finishing the project or ever launching your business. Start with a business name. Mock up a logo. Maybe even buy the website address. Run some numbers. Design some business cards. Maybe even set up an email address. Keep taking little steps towards making your business idea a reality and before you know it, it will start to take shape and become a real thing, rather than just an idea. There’s nothing scary about picking a name or designing a logo or even purchasing the domain name. Nothing scary at all. Do those little things and see how it feels.

Me: What is is the best advice you ever received? 

ES: You don’t need to write a full business plan or have all your ducks in a row. In the eternal words of Nike, just do it.

 Me: What makes you happy?

ES: Being the master of my own destiny. My baby. My baby-daddy. Sunshine. Floating up over unbroken waves and then floating down the other side. Holidays. Hard work for rewarding results. Healthy vegetarian food. Fresh sheets and my favourite doona. Newly coloured hair. Being finally comfortable (and happy) with my body, c-section scar and all. My yoga practice. Seeing my students enjoy my classes. My morning meditation and gratitude prayer. Having the courage to follow my dreams and the insight to appreciate everything in my life; the good and the bad.

 Me: OK, let’s talk about Barre Body because it seems to give you the body of a supermodel, while providing hours of entertainment too. What is it all about? 

ES: Barre Body combines yoga and barre conditioning to tone your whole body (think long and lean like a ballet dancer), while developing balance, strength and flexibility. Classes are comprised of interval training and isometric exercises incorporating hand weights, mat work and the barre to tone and shape one’s body. It’s a beautiful balance of cardio, strength and flexibility that is hard work, but LOTS of fun.

 Me: What results can women expect from Barre Body?

ES: I can honestly say that my body is in the best shape of my life, only 9 months after having my baby. With regular Barre Body workouts (I recommend 3-4 times per week), after 3 months you can expect to have trimmed down and toned up considerably, though you start to see visible results after only 10 sessions. Barre Body classes lengthen and tone the muscles of the arms, core, bum and thighs.

Me: Who is it good for? 

ES: Everyone, but particularly women who want to tone and shape their body without creating any bulk (long and lean).

Me: What’s your eating philosophy? 

It’s pretty simple.

  • Eat good, whole food.
  • Lots of veggies, whole grains, spices and pulses.
  • Eat kindly. Mostly vegetarian if you can.
  • Have a balanced diet. For me that includes chocolate, pizza, hot chips and ice-cream occasionally, though probably more than I should.
  • Be moderate in your moderation. As per the above; don’t be too extreme. Let go a little and treat yourself.
  • Cook!
  • Make healthy versions of your favourite foods.
  • Eat slowly and chew well.
  • Bless your food before you eat it.
  • Be grateful.
  • Enjoy.

It can be nicely summed up by the title of Michael Pollan’s book. “Eat food. Mostly plants. Not too much.”

Me: What is your ultimate last supper?

ES: I can think of a million, depending on my mood, the weather and all sorts of other factors, but today’s last supper would be:

A glass of purified, room temperature water.

A cup of fresh, green soup.

A vegetarian South Indian Thali. I love Thali; it’s like the perfect meal – you get different curries, rice, raita and naan, you get to eat with your hand, and it comes in a tray with different compartments – what’s not to love!

2 squares of dark mint chocolate.

Peppermint tea.

 Me: The three biggest life lessons you’ve ever learned? 

1.      Forgive

2.      Have courage

3.      Act from a place of love, rather than fear

My personal mantra is to “act with grace, love and dignity”.

Well, what do you have to say about that? Personally, I think Emma’s amazing. Check out more on Barre Body here. And leave your comments there (insert down arrow here).

Oh, and come back next week for more fun from Emma, who is kindly filming a neat little Barre Body video just for you, Happies. Yippeeee!

Stay Happy,

Yaz xx

6 comments

  1. Jen · May 11, 2012

    Emma, checked out your website, the classes sound great. Are you planning any expansions…such as Brisbane?

  2. claireobeid · May 14, 2012

    Having the honour of calling Emma a very close friend I can vouch for this ladies amazing bod post baby. Holy cow (well the opposite really) I was blown away by how super-hot she looked after only 6 months. But mostly I vouch for this woman’s authenticity and love. So anyone in Melbourne, check out her classes, I guarantee her beautiful energy will rub off.

  3. Pingback: Barre Body- Guest post (about me!) from The Happiness Cocktail
  4. Pingback: Exclusive Video: Tone Your Bum With Emma Seibold | The Happiness Cocktail
  5. Pingback: Guest post (about me!) from The Happiness Cocktail - Barre Body
  6. Pingback: Guest post (about me!) from The Happiness Cocktail – Barre Body

Leave a Reply

