A Day In The Life Of…Yaz’s Tummy

Hey there, Happies.

Yaz’s Tummy here. She’s relinquished her power of the keyboard, and now, it’s in my hands (yesssss! Finally!) as I share with you a day in the life of…well…me.

Let’s take a look at an average day (times are very approximate)…

7-8am: Wake up to a glass of barley grass powder and water. This instantly alkalises me and kick starts the system into superpower mode.

7:30-8:30am: Enjoy a warming cup of green tea. Recently, I’ve noticed that Yaz has been adding a sweet little chai mix to her green tea (clever chicken) with spices of ginger, cloves, peppercorns, cinnamon, and cardamom that she’s whipped up. I am THRILLED with this new addition, it instantly settles me, helps get those lazy immune fighters into action, and reduces inflammation.

8:30am: Breakfast #1. By now, I’m starting to get a bit grumbly so I get the royal treatment with a bowl of blueberries and raspberries topped with crushed walnuts. This is a delightful way to ease myself into the day. No heavy, greasy ingredients that are going to make me sluggish. Plus, the massive hit of antioxidant from the berries makes me even happier.

10:30am: Breakfast #2. Finally, I’m fully awake and ready to start churning through the food at a rapid pace. By this time of day, Yaz has most likely meditated, stretched, or even gone for a walk, so as you can imagine, I’m famished. Breakfast #2 is usually a bowl of homemade muesli with rolled oats, pepitas, sesame seeds, sunflower seeds and soy, rice or oat milk. This will keep me going for quite a few hours.

1:00pm: LUNCH! Hooray. I love lunch, especially when it involves lots of greens and veggies and leftovers, which it often does. Everyday is different, but some of Yaz’s favourites are: The 30-Second lunch (for quick, lazy days); The Mega Salad, The Trollope’s Famous Chicken & Curried Egg Sambos; Lettuce Cups; and Curried Carrot Salad. All the recipes for these can be found here. Again, usually lunch keeps me quite alkaline as there are lots of greens, Himalayan rock salt, and other non-acid forming ingredients.

3:30pm: Snack attack. Nibble, nibble, nibble. That’s the noise I start making so that Yaz remembers to feed me right about now. She usually grabs a piece of fruit, a rice thin with tahini and honey if she has a sugar craving, avocado and coconut ice creams, nuts, roastedΒ seaweed, or as of yesterday, she made these insane date and nut balls with super green powder. I know she’s going to share the recipe with you real soon, but let me tell you now, your tummies are going to DIE when they get a taste of these.

7:30pm: Dinner. Yaz loves to cook, so dinner is always something she’s spent most of the day dreaming up. Some of her favourite meals include vegetarian lasagne (that every single one of you should try), tofu and brown rice patties, chickpea and sweet potato curry, slow beef curry, hurricane chicken, and the other day, a new addition to the repertoire – Moroccan Chicken with Silverbeet, Green Olives, White Beans, and Tomato. Holy moly, I nearly flipped inside out when this one hit me. Here’s a visual (Yaz assures me she will share the recipe with you all very soon).

8:30pm: Dessert. I don’t get treated to dessert every night, but when I do (maybe 3-4 times a week) it might be Yaz’sΒ date and almond delicacy if it’s around. But usually it’s dark chocolate. Yaz tries to only have one or two squares, but the hubby has this rule where he can’t have another piece unless she does. Very vexing for her! BRILLIANT for me. *Wink!

A finally word from Yaz: I haven’t mentioned liquid here but all day I sip on water, tea, and fresh baby coconut juice (not into the popper version). I also enjoy liquid chlorophyl but I haven’t bought a bottle since I arrived back in Sydney. Must get back into that!

Tell me Happies,

Does that provide you with enough insight?
Any recipes you want to now try?

Stay Happy,

Yaz’s Tummy x

10 comments

  1. Steph Johnston · May 4, 2012

    Tehehe! Thanks Yaz, sorry Yaz’s tummy. Exactly what I was after!

  2. the sweet sky · May 4, 2012

    What are your thoughts on black tea? I remember seeing a study somewhere that said black tea was better at reducing stress levels than green tea, and also has the same amount of antioxidants as green tea. Good thing since I’m an English Breakfast kinda girl… πŸ™‚

    • Yaz Trollope · May 5, 2012

      Hi, The Sweet Sky. Oh, I used to drink English Breakfast all the time. Then I switched to Earl Grey, now I’m a green, or chai, or Rooibos girl. My thoughts on black tea are DRINK IT! Hey, antioxidant levels aside, I think tea (or coffee if you’re into it) is such a gorgeous ritual. I prefer the taste of green now – even though white tea, for example, is meant to be higher in antioxidants. Drink what makes you happy! That’s my belief. Yxx

  3. Emma · May 4, 2012

    I can’t imagine a happier tummy.

  4. Anonymous · May 4, 2012

    Hi Yaz – fantastic post. Would love to know what Chai mix you’re putting in your green tea. Sounds delicious.

  5. Mia · May 4, 2012

    Hi Yazzie! Would love to know your chai recipe when you get the chance! Loved this post and all your yummy alkalizing food. My new thing is starting the day with an alkalizing smoothie: 1 cucumber, 1 celery stalk, handful spinach, chunk of fresh ginger, fresh mint, and juice of half a lemon and half a lime, plus purified water. Blend it all up for a lovely green smoothie – delish! xxx

    • Yaz Trollope · May 5, 2012

      Mia, that sounds too good to be true. Yum, I think I might have to try that one myself. The chai mix is just a mix of dried spices including: cardamom, cloves, peppercorns (just one or two), cinnamon quill, dried ginger. It’s very similar to the T2 one which is yummy. I just throw that in my tea pot with my green tea and it’s delicious. I don’t feel the need for milk with the green tea, but if you wanted it on its own, add some soy milk and a dash of raw honey and DELISH! Hope that answers your questions. You too, Anonymous. Yxx

  6. memybestandi · May 5, 2012

    Yaz’s Tummy- I loved your blog , you should appear more often. You and Julie’s tummy would get on really well! A question re your homemade muesli- my tummy loves this too but lately been wondering about phytic acid in the raw oats destroying other nutrients (read something somewhere…) I used to make Bircher but dont really like the added juice/sugar part so reverted back to raw muesli.I have it with almond milk and berries and LSA and maybe some chia and feel fine but wondering is it the best approach?

    • Yaz Trollope · May 5, 2012

      That sounds delicious, Julie. While all grains should be soaked to decrease the level of phytic acid (by activating the phytase enzyme), studies have found that the phytic acid in oats doesn’t actually decrease that much over a 12-hour period. The same can be said for corn. This is because oats don’t have that much phytase in them to help break down the phytic acid. There are 2 approaches you can take: 1. Add another grain that does contain high levels of phytase like wheat, spelt, rye or buckwheat to your oats when soaking them, or 2: Don’t worry about it. If you’re enjoying your oats unsoaked it’s not the end of the world. In fact, I don’t soak mine all that much and it’s fine. Here’s some more info on this if you need it: http://www.rebuild-from-depression.com/blog/2010/02/oatmeal_phytic_acid.html. Hope that helps, Yxx

  7. Pingback: 3 Minute Lunch: Sprouty Goodness Open Sambos | The Happiness Cocktail

Leave a Reply

