Try This: Farmer Jo Muesli

If meandering around Eveleigh markets on a Saturday isn’t high on your to-do list, let me sell you in on the idea with this tricky little addition to stall lineup… Farmer Jo Muesli.

Sally from Farmer Jo is clearly a muesli lover. In fact, she loves the stuff so much she started a business based purely around making the best, most dreamy muesli out there.

Then she sent me a bag, which coincidently collided with my 5-day juice cleanse, so I popped the little containers of goodness in the freezer and waited, patiently, to enjoy them when I was back on solids. That doesn’t mean I didn’t smell them. Daily. And enjoy their sweet aromas of orange, fig, and almond.

I’m always in awe by brave women (and guys) who follow their passion and start something they are truly connected to. Be it mala beads or muesli, everyone has their niche and following that path takes guts, courage and determination.

So, to hear how it all came about for her, I thought I’d ask the delightful Sally from Farmer Jo what her story is. This is how it played out…

1. What’s the Farmer Jo story? Where did you start and how did you get the courage to go out on your own?

On a road trip with my husband and 2 month old baby, I realise I am a new mother who is still work obsessed.  During this drive I bombard my husband with home based business ideas, until he finally interrupts and suggests the idea of homemade muesli……. Perfect!

From there, we started baking in the kitchen of Remy and Lee’s cafe, Surry Hills on Mondays when they were closed, and now, we have our own cafe (Farmer Jo Kitchen & Larder, 45 Hutchison Street, Surry Hills) as well as supply to other businesses and have a stand at Eveleigh markets.

My courage for business came from a dream to have both family and career/business, not to mention my entrepreneurial husband!

2. What’s Farmer Jo all about? Why is it different to other muesli brands?

Farmer Jo is all about our little statement “WANT ME EAT ME LOVE ME”, we want to appeal to the senses: looks, smell, taste

Our muesli looks beautiful (the muesli itself and the containers that it is sold in), and it smells and tastes delicious (freshly roasted muesli, spices and scents, chunky nuts, and big pieces of fruit). We want to create the most delicious mueslis and celebrate all things breakfast – bringing more fun, taste, style to the breakfast table.

3. What is your favourite flavour?

My favourite flavour changes with the seasons, but I do love our natural muesli in summertime because we make it as a bircher muesli (soaked overnight in cloudy apple juice and served with natural yoghurt, a drizzle of honey and burnt figs…yum!) All this rain has got me thinking about winter! And porridge!…thinking maple roasted pecans and bananas served with warm soy milk

4. What advice do you have for other passionate muesli lovers out there wanting to follow their dreams?

Surround yourself with great people, and never lose your enthusiasm (that will keep you going through the tough times, because there are some along the way).

5. Your mueslis are toasted, why did you opt for toasted varieties over raw? Aside from tasty deliciousness, of course.

I LOVE toasted muesli which explains why we have only 1 natural muesli at the moment. We are currently working on new recipes though so lots more flavours to come (toasted and natural and gluten free).

SOUNDS AMAZING!

So Happies, I guess all it takes is a good idea and lots of enthusiasm. Here’s to many more happy, healthy endings.

In the meantime, tell me…

Do you eat muesli?

Do you like the sound of these mueslis?

Have you got a burning business idea you want to get off the ground? If so, GO FOR IT!

Stay Happy,

Yaz xx

8 comments

  1. thepollenpath · April 19, 2012

    I love Farmer Jo muesli! They sell it at the cafe where I get my coffee in the morning. I think I might have to go check out their shop in Surry Hills and stock up 🙂

  2. sparkles · May 2, 2012

    Sounds yum. Yaz how would you compare this to steel cut oats?

    • Yaz Trollope · May 2, 2012

      Hey Sparkles,

      Well, in all honesty steel cut oats are the Ferrari of the oat family. They are the BOMB as they are wholegrain.

      That said, you can’t eat them raw so they’re only good for porridge, not muesli. HOWEVER, I personally prefer unroasted muesli as the whole cooking thing does inhibit the wonderfulness of the oat. BUT, many people LOVE roasted muesli (and I definitely do as a treat) so this type of thing is a brilliant way to incorporate oats into the diet of people that A) eat cocopops for breakfast and need something super tasty, sweet, but still healthy, or B) prefer roasted over raw.

      If you’re still confused about oats, check out this post I did a while back. https://thehappinesscocktail.wordpress.com/2011/11/30/oats-debaffled/

      Hope that helps!

      YX

  3. Business · April 29, 2013

    Hi! I know this is sort of off-topic but I needed to
    ask. Does building a well-established website such as yours take a massive amount work?

    I am completely new to blogging but I do write in my journal every day.
    I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my own experience and views online. Please let me know if you have any ideas or tips for brand new aspiring bloggers. Thankyou!

  4. UK business advice · August 22, 2014

    hey there and thank you for your info – I’ve certainly picked up anything new from right here.
    I did however expertise several technical points using this site, as I experienced to reload the website lots of times previous to I could get
    it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK?
    Not that I am complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will often affect your placement in google and could damage your quality score if advertising and marketing with Adwords.

    Well I’m adding this RSS to my e-mail and can look out
    for much more of your respective intriguing content.
    Ensure that you update this again soon.

  5. three website tips · September 23, 2014

    Interesting stuff, I changed template on my site and then the serps
    had an enormous slide
    Shared on StumbleUpon, it will be useful to people over
    there!

  6. shopping · July 21, 2016

    What’s up everyone, it’s my first go to see at this website,
    and piece of writing is actually fruitful for me, keep up posting these types of articles or reviews.

  7. online shopping · December 28

    If some one desires to be updated with most recent technologies then he must be go to see this web
    site and be up to date everyday.

Leave a Reply

