Three Tried and Tested Ways to Beat The Blues

Despite being a happiness blogger, I’m not immune to feeling unhappy. Or just a bit bluesy. Some days things just get to you in a gritty, grubby way and seem to stick. I think it’s all a part of being human, we all need to feel things after all.

That said, I also believe in recognising the shift in your emotions, and going ‘OK, I feel a bit shit today. What can I do about it?’ And no, sitting on the couch eating a packet of Tim Tams doesn’t count.

Here are some things to do when you’re feeling less rhythm, more blues…

1. Force yourself outside. It’s a well-known fact that exercise increases your endorphins, which in turn makes you happy. The only problem is that when you’re feeling flat, the last thing you want to do is exercise – it’s like the two are intrinsically linked. So, take command of your brain, tell it to shut it, and literally force yourself out the door and into nature. Head for a walk in the park, go down to the beach, scope out the bush…no matter how much you don’t want to do it, make sure you do.

2. Meditate. When I recently returned home from 9-months overseas I struggled to find my mojo for a while. I was overwhelmed by how busy my life was here, desperately clinging to the simple life I enjoyed while away, and reformulating a realistic plan that would see me stay focused, balanced, and relaxed, as well as doing the things I needed to to earn a living, and make time to see the people I loved and cared about. During this time, I meditated daily, it was the only way to not slip back into bad habits or get carried away with thoughts, and to-do lists, and meetings. After a week of meditating everyday, I honestly felt happier, more alive, empowered, and able to take on anything. Don’t make excuses as to why you can’t do it, just sit there for 10-20 minutes a day and watch how much more productive (and happy) you become. I guarantee after a while you’ll be craving it.

3. Just let it all out. Too often people hide behind a facade of ‘fineness’. You know, the old ‘how are you?’ ‘Oh, I’m fine’. There are many reasons for this, some to do with not wanting to burden people, others to do with trusting people with your emotions. The thing is, when you’re pretending to be something you’re not, you’re never going to find happiness.

This doesn’t mean air your dirty laundry to the world, all you need to do is trust in yourself, or a select group of people, and really let yourself go. No facade, no holding back, no fear. Just you. If you need to cry, do it. If you need to scream, go nuts. Breath it out, let it go, and watch your mind make space for the positive as it releases the negative.

Stay Happy,

Yaz x

Leave a Reply

