Eat This: 2-minute Green Goddess Nutty Spread

I’ve recently become a little engrossed in the prospect of making my own sauces. BBQ, Nutty Green Spread, and Tahini Delight are some of the most recent additions to our kitchen, all of which I’ll be sharing with you over the coming days.

The first, however, has to be my Green Goddess Nutty Spread, which acts like a pesto but can also be added to salads, sandwiches, pasta, rice, and any other grain on the planet. I made it on the weekend for my sister’s baby shower and tossed it through some wholegrain pasta, added some balsamic roasted tomatoes, Spanish onion, and baby spinach to the bowl and it was a huge winner, or so the bowl told me once it was licked clean.

Here’s a visual of the shower, and a close-up of the food. The pasta dish is the one is the massive white bowl at the back…

Here’s what you need…

2 x bunches of fresh basil
1 x bunch of mint
1 x handful of almonds
1 x handful of walnuts
1 x small piece of feta or goats cheese (optional)
1 x lemon
3 x good glugs of olive oil

This is quite similar to a pesto I’ve made in the past, but the addition of feta cheese made this spread so creamy and tasty and delicious you’d think it was far naughtier than it actually was.

To make the mixture, simply place the nuts in the blender and whiz for a few seconds, then, throw in the remaining ingredients and slowly pour the oil in as you blend. Let it thicken and liquidise to your desired sauciness. Bottle, serve, or sell it. It really is that good.

Stay happy,
Yaz xx

4 comments

  1. Hannah · January 20, 2012

    yummo! I usually add in a handful of parmesan, but goats cheese (my favourite!) sounds awesome 🙂

  2. Ingrid · January 21, 2012

    Thanks Yas, I do love the idea of having something freshly made instead of the procecssed foods that tend to accumulate in cupboards due to time constraints. I will be making this nutty spreat this afternoon and look forward to learning more about the other recipees for sauces that will be coming later=)

    The baby shower looks fab too X

  3. Chloe · February 8, 2012

    I love the look of so many recipes you put up, but so many of them have nuts in them! I have a severe nut allergy, and am always looking for healthy snacks, but its hard to think of anything that doesn’t involve a crazy allergic reaction! Any ideas or tips for nut-free dishes and snacks? Alternatives to almond milk and nut-butters?

  4. Alana Cafe (@ladolcelana) · February 10, 2012

    I cooked this recipe for dinner last night, and it was both easy, absolutely delicious and a huge winner amongst my family! Can’t wait to try out more of your recipes!

Leave a Reply

