Oh my goodness! I’m back, and alive, and…

HAPPY. Very happy.

If you’re a regular reader of The Happiness Cocktail, I’m sure you’ve noticed my absence over the past month or so. Wow, what a whirlwind I’ve been on. The past month has seen me depart New York, farewell my friends in Asheville, share a gloriously romantic Christmas with my sparkly new husband in Hawaii, and return back to Sydney, where it appears I have a far busier life than I ever remembered.

Of course, returning from 9 months overseas will create a buzz among your family and close friends. There’s a frenetic energy that zaps around you, with everyone wanting to get their fair share of the fun. Including me. I’ve been running around, catching up, moving house, arranging work, and very quickly forgetting the importance of slowing down, taking time for myself, and that feeling of freedom I experienced when overseas.

I think that’s why ‘life’ can sometimes swallow you whole. We’ve all had those moments of feeling like you literally have nothing left to give, nothing to offer anyone else, and not a single spare second in the day. I certainly have. But I’ve also felt the flip side of that where I removed myself from ‘life’ and was completely free from responsibility and work, and selfishly spending my days doing whatever I (or my husband) wanted.

Sure, this isn’t always possible. In fact, it’s almost impossible to do on a long-term basis, so your happy place, I think, lies in being able to slow down, switch off, say NO!, and breathe throughout your daily life, rather than frantically trying to tick 10 things off your daily to do list, or run away completely (although I highly recommend that too).

As a result of realising how hectic life actually is, I’ve made it my resolve to slow down this year, work smart not hard, and always take time for myself. You should, too.

And, that’s what you can expect from The Happiness Cocktail in 2012. More tips on slowing down, eating right, being kind to your body, and best of all, remembering that you’re not Superwoman (or Superman) and no one expects you to be.

Happy New Year, Happies

Yaz Trollope xx (Yep, I’ve changed my name now that I am ‘with husband’ so if you see me popping up either here on on Twitter, don’t wonder who I am – same Yaz, different surname.)

4 comments

  1. Steph · January 18, 2012

    Welcome back Yaz! We’ve missed you. Can’t wait to see where you take THC this year. x

  2. Alex · January 18, 2012

    I love you. xx

  3. Ingrid · January 18, 2012

    Welcome back Yaz,

    It has been such good fun to read about your experiences abroad and I am sure you are happy to be back and with husband=)

  4. mindybeaver · January 18, 2012

    Welcome back Yaz! I here your sentiment about life swallowing you up…def need to take more time for thy self. Since I’ve been on hols for a month I’ve been doing just that, looking after me! I even wrote ’12 for 12′ Twelve little achievable reminders for 2012. Printed them out and stuck them on the fridge! http://beavercity.wordpress.com/2012/01/01/12-for-12/

Leave a Reply

