Found: The Sephora of ethical, organic beauty buys

For those of you who found me through Twitter, or Gala Darling, or some other webisphere finder, you may not know that my real job is filed under Beauty Editor.

Yep, for the past 5 or so years I’ve worked at titles like Marie Claire, Famous, and PRIMPED, talking about all kinds of fun ways to braid your hair, wear red lips, or apply false lashes correctly. You know, life-changing things like that.

So, clearly I love a beauty product. Or ten thousand. And years of learning about beauty treatments and products and trends has taught me the difference between thermage and balyage and everything ‘age’ in between. It has also taught me that there’s a huge shift away from more mainstream beauty products towards smaller, niche brands that offer organic, ethical beauty products that aren’t rammed with chemicals and ingredients that we then slather all over our largest organ – our skin.

That said, I’m no martyr in this arena. I too am slowly phasing out some of my beloved skin products and consciously making the decision to not only eat clean food, but incorporate clean products into my daily regimen too. Not just beauty products, but cleaning products as well. It’s a work in progress, but I figure why ruin all my hard eating work by piling chemicals back in when they don’t really need to be there.

But here’s the snag in the stocking, Happies. The organic beauty world is relatively unregulated and the guidelines for the Australian and American organic governing bodies, for example, differ greatly from that of the French. Or English. Or German. So, any old chap can choose a simple governing body and get their products stamped with an ‘organic’ seal of approval, when all they’ve had to do is include some minute amount of organic ingredient in there. Spooky, no?

We then, as the consumer, see that stamp and trust in those stamps and buy said product, being fooled all the way to the chemical plant. Bummer! I’m going to have the lovely Sally from miniOrganics come on here and explain what to look out for – because for every dodge brand there are 10 ligit ones, you just have to know what to look for. But until then, check out this…

SPIRIT BEAUTY LOUNGE.COM

Pretty much the most exciting thing to have happened to me in the last 24 hours, this website sells a HUGE variety of natural, organic, ethical, sustainable beauty brands that you can trust. They’ve done all the hard, annoying sifting for you. Brilliant!

I’m lusting after the Ilia Pure Lip Care, because I’m starting to think I don’t want all those nasties near my mouth.

As well as the Chocolate Sun Absolute Sun Sunless Tanning Cream because I’m incredibly pasty right now, and really need a fake tan before returning to Sydney.

Go have a little look around and see what you like. Think: Christmas Gift Ideas, Christmas Wishlists, New Year’s Eve Party Makeup Buys. Ahh, the list is endless. Have fun! And why not share your thoughts on organic beauty products and where you stand with them. Do you have any favourites?

Stay Happy,

Yaz xx

10 comments

  1. memybestandi · December 7, 2011

    Yaz I seriously swear you read my mind with your posts- you just keep producing ones that are so relative to me that moment!!

    Ive just finished a blog project ‘Natural November” whereby I swapped EVERY product I used for a natural (organic where possible) version. Make-up, perfumes skincare, haircare, body products, cleaning products..

    It was really interesting and while I freaked out at the start at the thought of the make-up changes, i got really used to it so much so Im still loving mineral make-up, natural mascaras etc and have kept using them

    The skincare and body care was easy, haircare is really hard to find clean styling products though

    I also dont want to be the clean martyr banging the drum, but my conclusion is the 80:20 rule. Ill try and wear clean make-up 80% of the time, at weekends and in work and then pull out that trend lipstick or the big guns mascara for nights out. Thats gotta still do wonders for toxic consumption

    Skincare is a no brainer- its a pleasure to use natural products. Also my skin was definitely over-sensitized, crazy, broken out at the start of the month and now its almost healed and has rebalanced and refined- I can’t believe it my pores have never been this clean/tight!

    Hair – I shuffle between O&M and then Al’chemy a few times a week as they are really clean and use a natural hair oil and then pull out all the styling prodz when Im going somewhere or have a big client meeting etc etc

    Deodorant- I’m still struggling with – all the natural ones still dont give me 100% confidence Im stink-free!

    sorry long comment- but Im bursting with enthusiasm for this topic at the mo!

    • Yaz Turker · December 8, 2011

      Amazing! I love that blog idea. So clever. I totally agree that hair styling products are hard to come across, but the skincare thing is so easy and so good. AEOS is one of the best organic skincare brands I’ve come across, my skin was in incredible condition after using their stuff. Good job, great comment, superb idea! Yxx

    • Silvy · December 9, 2011

      For deo- try Soapwalla- people swear by it! I personally have been using Weleda Rose spray deodorant for many years, and I love it.

  2. Courtney · December 8, 2011

    Thanks so much for this post, Yaz. I too have been searching around for great natural products, but as a makeup junkie myself, I’ve been having a somewhat hard time finding things that compare to my old products. Tinted moisturizer was easy–I either use Lush’s Jakie Oates or Tarte. My only (shallow) hangup with it is that I like for my beauty products to LOOK beautiful. Is that wrong? I have found that some natural brands are lacking beautiful packaging, which for an ex-graphic design student is kind of a bother. I personally like looking into my makeup bag and feeling slightly luxurious (I sound like such a brat)… I guess at the moment I am feeling torn. I want to live a healthier life and live more naturally, but at the same time, I don’t want to lose my love for fashion and makeup. Luckily, this site seems to have a great combination–stylish packaging and natural products! Love! Do they ship to Australia? I’m planning on moving to Sydney in May and won’t know where to look for great beauty products.

    • Yaz Turker · December 8, 2011

      Hey Courtney, they do indeed ship to Australia. Yessssss!

  3. amber · December 10, 2011

    I have been using Organix shampoos and conditioners and find that they work really well for my naturally wavy, unruly hair. I use Cetaphil on my face, but I’d love to find something equally as gentle, inexpensive, and fragrance free from a company that does not test on animals. Any ideas?

    Yaz, I was wondering if you have tried the Ilia lipsticks? I can’t seem to find a single brand that doesn’t look flaky and uneven on my lips.

    I suffer from autoimmune disease, so I am quite committed to using clean products that don’t disrupt my already disrupted system.

    • Sophie @ The Clean Beauty Blog · January 28, 2012

      Hi Amber – I’ve used Ilia and they go on really smoothly – like a cross between a creamy balm and a sheer lipstick that is buildable. Shizen (an Australian clean beauty company) also make a really nice restorative oil for lips that helps a lot with flaking and unevenness. Hope that helps!

  4. Katie · December 14, 2011

    Hi Yaz,

    Have only just discovered your blog and loving it! Sorry if abit off topic but I’m heading overseas in a few days and was wondering if you could recommend some lovely ‘natural’ facia cleansing wipes to use while travelling?

    Katie

  5. Yaz Turker · December 15, 2011

    Hey Katie,
    I’m SO EXCITED that you’re loving the blog. Thank you! Personally, I love the Yes To Cucumbers Facial Towelletes. They’re made from biodegradable ‘towel’ and have ingredients like cucumber, aloe, and green tea. They’re 98% natural, easy to find, and cheap. I’d give them a go. Enjoy! Yx

  6. SophIe @ The Clean Beauty Blog · January 28, 2012

    Hi Yaz

    I’ve also just discovered your blog after devouring your posts & videos on Primped! I absolutely LOVE Ilia Lipcare – Shellshock is the most amazing bright pink, and Nobody’s Baby is a lovely silky nude, and I think they’re expanding the range this year.

    For skincare you should also check out Apostle Online, they have gorgeous products. Content Beauty is another great site!

    Sophie

Leave a Reply

