Raw Meal Mondays

I’m not a vegetarian.

Nor, a vegan.

I am, however, a whole-foodist. I eat a predominantly plant and whole grains diet, but I also enjoy high quality lean meat, seafood, and poultry. I also try to incorporate a large proportion of raw food into my meals as well, Happies. You know, variety and all that.

Of all the research I’ve been doing over the past year or so, I’ve found that eating a diet rich in greens, many different vegetables, and whole grains such as brown rice, millet, quinoa and oats (to name just a few) is a pretty damn good idea. Especially if you want to live for a long time, and not get nasty, totally preventable diseases like Type 2 Diabetes and Heart Disease.

Which brings me back to my idea. I figured that everyone loves a theme. Right? Too right. So, to encourage all of you (and the world) to eat more wholefoods, I’d make it fun, exciting, and not-at-all intimidating.

The idea? Raw Meal Mondays. Hooray! Brilliant! Clap, clap, clap!

I thought that by encouraging people to have just one totally raw meal a week, at the beginning of their week, they would start off on the right foot and be encouraged to have, say, one raw meal a day. Or three times a week. Or whenever, because let’s face it, one is better than none. And three is even better than that.

We all know that Mondays tend to be the ‘beginning’ for many people. It’s the day you start a diet, or a juice cleanse, or a pattern of some sort. I always find that if I start the week off eating badly, the entire week suddenly becomes a right off and I’m out of balance for a whole 7 days. Simply because I couldn’t get my shit together on Monday.

It doesn’t have to be hard, or painful. Try switching your regular Vegemite on toast for a green smoothie made with avocado, greens, cucumber, and apple. Or, raw oats with chia seeds, nuts, and some homemade almond milk. Or, a massive salad for lunch with every vegetable you could imagine. Or a tasty chia seed parfait. Or…the list is endless.

Here are some great sites I recommend for recipe inspiration…

The Raw Food World

We Like It Raw

The Raw Chef

Sweetly Raw

I also thought we could create a little community here on The Happiness Cocktail, where we share recipe ideas and keep each other motivated to take part in Raw Meal Mondays. Tell your friends, spread the word, and help create a fun, exciting, and entertaining market place of ideas and recipes about food, health, and wellbeing. Who wouldn’t want that, right?

Definitely not this guy, who I stumbled across when googling images for ‘Hooray Monday’…

I say we steal this unicorn, run with it, and take it one step further into not just leaving meat on Monday, but overcooked, processed, unhealthy foods, too.

What do you say, Happies? Are you in?

Yaz xx

7 comments

  1. memybestandi · November 25, 2011

    I’ve just been considering a raw experiment after reading a few things but namely watching this video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0cAisO2LZZI The way her skin changed sounds unbelievable. I was chatting with my husband and thought I may try it over the start Jan to Australia Day period. I’m still not 100% committed I need to weight it up a little more and I am just sort of coming out the otherside of a horrible year of post pill acne and thought it could be a nice way to boost my skin for 2012- the year of good skin so I keep telling myself & setting my yoga intentions!! I’m bribing him Hubby saying he could just buy lean meat fillets and grill them to have alongside the raw delights I would have made. Most my breakies and lunches are raw anyway so that would be easy. But I may test the water first- dying to see some Raw Monday inspiration- good one Yaz!

  2. Alana · November 25, 2011

    This is a great idea. I am totally in! Would be great to get some recipe inspiration each week too.

    Also a question for you re: raw oats, are ‘quick oats’ also raw?

  3. Annette @ Wellness WA · November 27, 2011

    Love this idea! Been eating more raw lately myself πŸ™‚ Can’t wait to see what recipes you propose! xo

  4. Yaz Turker · November 28, 2011

    Good one! I’m so happy you’re in.

    Alana, Raw Oats and Quick Oats are two very different things. If I were you, I’d steer clear of the quick oats and go straight for the Rolled Oats. I’ll do a post on it to explain why on Tuesday (as today is Raw Meal Monday). Hooray!

    Yx

    • Alana · November 28, 2011

      Thanks yaz, looking forward to it! Just to clarify, I don’t mean flavoured or prepackaged quick oats. I think they are just rolled oats but cut smaller so they cook quicker.

      • Yaz Turker · November 29, 2011

        Yep, they’re the ones. They’re more heavily processed than rolled oats (that’s what makes them smaller and quicker to cook) and therefore have less goodness inside. Plus, as you’re not cooking them, there’s no waiting-to-cook time. Yippeeee! Yx

  5. Pingback: Raw Meal Monday: Pure Food’s Raw Vegan Pad Thai | The Happiness Cocktail

Leave a Reply

