Two Second Recipe: A Whizzing Amazing Ayurvedic Breakfast Shake

While I don’t recall the exact reason for being ‘prescribed’ this breakfast shake, or any other exchange on the day itself, I have never forgotten this recipe from an Ayurvedic doctor I saw at a work event many years ago, and continue to make this delicious treat on a regular basis (when I have a blender on hand).

Its ingredients are simple, and the method could be learned by a monkey, but the best part about this shake it that it’s great for your digestive system, and a glorious way to wake up in the morning.

All you’ll need is…

5 x fennel seeds

3 x dates (pitted)

6 x almonds

1 x cardamom pod

1 x large glass of water

And all you need to do is…

1. Soak all the ingredients in the water overnight and keep in the fridge. When you’re ready for your breakfast shake, simply pour the water and its contents into your blender and push whizzzzz!

2. Now drink!

It should look a little something like this…

Because of the almonds, the shake goes all milky and delicious, and the spices in there create this wonderful chai-like taste, which is very palatable and a zingy way to wake up your tastebuds. Yumyumyum!

Add some cinnamon in there if you like as well, or take it straight up. The choice is entirely yours, Happies.

Tell me…

What’s your favourite breakfast shake?

Do you like the sound of this one?

Are you a chai fan?

8 comments

  1. Linda @ stuff i like · October 18, 2011

    I love the sound of the shake. I’ve got all the ingredients in the pantry so I’m going to try it tomorrow for breakfast. Thanks Yaz.

  2. casey · October 18, 2011

    I would have never thought of such a combination but is sounds so nice, will definitely have to try!

    Speaking of Breakfast ideas, its an area I find hard to come up with variations to muesli and eggs with spinach, tomato, smoothies etc. Do you happen to have any breakfast ideas outside of those three that you wouldnt mind sharing, I am lacking lots of inspiration!

    • Yaz Turker · October 19, 2011

      Casey, absolutely I do. An abundance in fact. Will post this week. Yxx

  3. memybestandi · October 18, 2011

    Love the sound of this love anything almondy and chai spicy! So easy- will try at the weekend. What makes it Ayurvedic? I don’t quite have a handle on that principle??

  4. Yaz Turker · October 19, 2011

    Memybestandi, to be honest, I have no idea. Haha! I just remember an Ayurvedic doctor giving me the recipe. That said, the concept of Ayurveda is VERY complex, but on a basic level it looks at living in harmony with nature by balancing your body, mind, and consciousness with the environment around you. This is done by looking at the 5 elements (Earth, Air, Fire, Water, Space) as well as the 3 Doshas, or body types, and looking at your body type and element, and how you as an individual can work with your strengths, rather than against them. Perhaps there’s a blog in this…yes, I think there is. Stay tuned! Yxx

  5. memybestandi · October 20, 2011

    The blog topics keep manifesting- can of worms – love it!! I did browse through an article once on a woman treating her acne after a long battle with it. She finally cured it with Ayurveda principles and discovering what her triggers were for her “type” and I mental noted to go learn more but I never did!!

    PS got me some Himalayan Salt at the weekend- thanks for that, this may sound silly but its lovely- really extra salty!!

    Also while I was nosing about on the Alkaline Sisters site I found a recipe for pumpkin soup with brazil nut and coriander cream- I made it at the weekend and it was seriously so delicious – I had it on Monday and Tuesday for lunch!!

  6. Pingback: TOP 10 Ayurvedic Breakfast Drinks for Weight Loss – Simply Desi

Leave a Reply

