Lesson #4: Reading is a key ingredient to growing

It was like an oasis had appeared right in front of me, Happies. There it was, with its fluro orange jacket staring me in the face screaming ‘PICK ME. PICK ME’.

Of course, it wasn’t really screaming, books can’t scream, but in that instant, as I wandered around the Borders Books Closing Down Sale (sad face) that this book literally just appeared out of nowhere. I’m 99% sure it wasn’t there the first time I glanced at that shelf, but if I actually said that out loud people might really think I’ve lost it. But hey, we’re all friends here, so I’m going to throw it out there.

It’s no secret that I’m a firm believer in books ‘finding’ you. It’s happened to me so many times now, I hardly even get surprised when I open the first few pages and start reading and there it is… the story of my life right now. Or at least, the story of where I want my life to be heading, or think it’s heading at some point in time.

So when I picked up Stephanie Dowrick’s latest novel, Seeking The Sacred, the pearl among all kinds of random oysters, I knew I had officially struck literary gold. The fact that this bad boy was even still on the shelves was a miracle in itself. It was clearly meant to be.

Here’s the book in question…

If you’re yet to acquaint yourself with Dowrick, please do yourself a favour and skip on over to her website after this. She’s kind of my idol. Her insights into life and lessons and in this case, spirituality and religion, is beyond anything I could ever hope to know. Oh, and her other books, especially Choosing Happiness, are a must-read if you’re looking for something uplifting and life lesson-y.

Which brings me back to Seeking the Sacred. I’ve only just started this book, but already I’m devouring it like a spray tan on Snooki. It’s amazing. Insightful. And so incredibly focused on making you question your belief system that it’s impossible not to grow after reading its pages.

But there’s one passage in particular that has me thinking, questioning, and perhaps down the track, growing that I wanted to share with you. It’s about perception and choosing what you believe, and what you don’t.

‘You don’t see the world as it is; you see the world as you ARE.’

I had to read this a few times to get my head around it. But once comprehended, this is SO TRUE. How I perceive something may be completely different to how someone else does, and that’s purely based on our perception. Past experience, belief systems, fears, insecurities, passions…all these things and so many more impact on how we see the world. And really can cause all kinds of unnecessary shit in our lives.

So today’s lesson comes down to this, Happies. By opening up our minds and learning, reading, and educating ourselves on other possibilities and scenarios in life, we’re essentially growing. And with growth comes so many amazing things. It really is food for your soul, so on that note, I urge you to go out, grab a book (maybe even this book) and start feasting. Go on, scoot!

But first tell me…

What’s your favourite book?

Do you agree that it’s so important to read and grow and learn?

What do you think of this idea of seeing the world as you are, rather than how it is?

2 comments

  1. Jess · June 7, 2012

    Eckhart Tolle’s ‘A New Earth’ did that for me, from a spiritual perspective. From a health and wellness perspective, I recently read ‘Healthy at 100’, by John Robbins, and it was amazing. I think the title is unfortunate, and doesn’t really convey what the book is about. Yes, it’s about seeking healthy longevity, but it’s mainly about learning ideas (food, exercise, and spiritual practices) from different cultures around the world who are *doing it better* than we are.

    • Yaz Trollope · June 11, 2012

      Love Eckhart, he’s amazing. Thanks so much for sharing, Jess. Great choice. Yx

Leave a Reply

