Lesson #2: Small acts of kindness happen everyday

The bustling streets of New York aren’t exactly known for their kindness. People buzz past, around, and sometimes even through each other to get from point A to point B as quickly as physically possible. It’s the nature of living in such a fast-paced society, I guess.

That said, the simplest acts of kindness do happen here. Everyday. And yesterday, I was both witness, and giver to such niceties.

The first was a beautiful moment of help, when a blind man was trying to cross a busy road up around 47th St, and a young man quickly leapt to his aid and grabbed the blind man’s arm, steering him to safety, and away from the honking cars. It was incredible to witness, and also brought about a sudden sense of awareness in me. I was standing right next to this man, why didn’t I think to help him. Clearly, he appreciated this small act of warmth.

Once in the clear, the blind man simply nodded to this gentleman, showing that it’s not everyday someone helps another without any reason, and he was touched by the thought of someone doing that for him.

With this scenario plastered into my brain, it occurred to me how important it is to help others. We are all connected, in one way or another, and should reach out to those around us in selfless, humble, generous ways, without wanting something back.

It was then, in that moment of clarity, that the skies opened up and the rain started coming down. I, luckily, had an umbrella, but the young girl standing next to me at the red pedestrian light did not. She was already soaking wet, shivering, cold, unsure of what to do next, and I thought this was my opportunity to give something back, help those around me, and offer this girl a position underneath my umbrella.

Sure, it was a tiny act of kindness, but one she was incredibly thankful for. In fact, she was almost taken aback at the offer. It’s just an umbrella, you’re wet, I’m not, hop on under.

It was a lovely lesson to learn, or at least be reminded about, that kindness comes in all shapes, forms, and sizes, and by thinking of others, rather than just yourself for a moment, you really can change someone’s day, week, month, or even year. And in knowing that, I plan on taking these opportunities to give back as often as they present themselves to me. Why on Earth not?

Tell me Happies…

Do you go out of your way to help others?
Do you think we could all become a little more aware of these scenarios?
What is the nicest thing you’ve witnessed, or received, from someone else?

2 comments

  1. Rachel Magahy · September 8, 2011

    Beautiful reminder Yaz – a little gesture goes such a long way! xx

  2. Emma Reynolds (@Em_Reyno) · September 8, 2011

    Lovely Blog! it’s true it’s really nice to be reminded of how acting like this to strangers makes you feel x

Leave a Reply

