Honour your dreams and start smiling NOW!

“Happiness is not something you postpone for the future; it is something you design for the present.” Jim Rohn

Thanks Jim, well said, and true in so many respects, but potentially inflammatory for those feeling lost, alone, unsure of what to do next, or simply down-in-the-dumps. We’ve all been there at one time or another, haven’t we? Where the concept of happiness seems so far away, it’s almost impossibly out of reach; having to crawl through far too many emotional hoops to find it.

Of course, once you do find it, it is truly the most amazing gift one could have, and you quickly come to realise that the journey you took to get here not only made you stronger, but more appreciative of life’s lessons, too.

Happiness is something, I believe, we have to work hard at finding and keeping. In many respects, it’s a relationship, one that you have with not only yourself, but with others too. And while I’m all for being happy right now, it has taken me a long time recognise that planning for your life of happiness is a task that takes hard work, commitment, and the ability to listen to your instincts.

When I first brought up the idea of leaving behind my wonderful job, friends, house, and family in Sydney, in an effort to follow my dreams and move to New York, I was greeted with a banquet of mixed responses. My worried mum was unsure that I’d ever be able to get a job as good as the one I had, while my dad was certain I’d run out of money. It took time for them to realise that following your dreams is all about sacrifice, but when you know in your heart that you’re doing the right thing, suddenly all those uncertainties fade into nothingness.

Now that I am here though, I have learned so much about myself. So much about my fears, my instincts, my self-belief, and most of all, my happiness. Because when you have the patience and foresight to read the signs that point you in the right direction, you’re only going to sail into happy-land. I’m so sure of it.

The first place to start is finding out where it is you want to go. It’s so easy to follow the path of least resistance, only to get to the end and realise you’re lost and that your true path is 10,000 kilometres to the southwest. But don’t worry; in my opinion you’re never so lost you can’t find your way back. NEVER!

Once you know where you’re heading, however, suddenly you will see doors open and opportunities presenting themselves that you may have missed in the past. It’s like reading the street signs that show you the way to go. I have found this to be so true for me, and many other people have repeated this same story time and time again.

I also think that while it’s one of life’s necessities to dream big and work towards your passions and goals, it’s also important to reward yourself daily and seek happiness from the small things, too. Candles, baths, nature, loved ones, laughing, writing, good food…all these things are on my list of ‘make me feel good’ and it’s essential to bring them into your everyday.

My advice? Take the plunge. Right now. Stop thinking, start doing, thank me later, and if all else fails, listen to Oprah…

“I believe that every single event in life happens in an opportunity to choose love over fear.” Oprah Winfrey

10 comments

  1. memybestandi · August 25, 2011

    Had I been one of your confidantes when you were making the decision I would have been in Camp Go Bloody Do It! Moving to Australia from Ireland was one of the best things I ever did at 21. Forging a new life on your own without all your home familiarities, patterns and people’s expectations and the need to conform to your social and family circles is so liberating and makes you discover so much about yourself and gives you the space you need to develop your own identity, it’s definitely helped me become a better me and the me I want to be regardless of what other people wanted me to be!! Enjoy every self-discovering moment, it will be the making of you 🙂

  2. Corrine/Frock & Roll · August 25, 2011

    Oh Yaz, have I ever told you how much I love your blog?! I do! Thanks for being so wonderful, and for constantly giving us the encouragement we all need!

  3. Anonymous · August 25, 2011

    I feel so alone and sad today 😦 thanks yas

    • Yaz Turker · August 25, 2011

      Thanks Happies…

      Corrine, I don’t think you’ve told me that before but I am so grateful and happy that you enjoy it. And Anonymous, it’s OK to not always feel happy, we’re human and that’s all part of the process, but that said, try not to get too caught up in it for your own sanity. Treat yourself to some ‘you’ time and really do one little (or big) thing everyday that makes you smile. It’s amazing how powerful the little things are.

      Stay Happy,

      Yxx

  4. Evie · August 25, 2011

    Uplifting speech there, Yaz! 🙂

  5. CND · August 26, 2011

    Absolutely needed this! Thank you so much. If you have the time I would love your advice on jobs and happiness. Do you believe you should love every job you do or do people just have to accept all jobs arent great and you just have to do it. Im at a stage where I am working in a job I am not liking but on side of me says I have to do it because ‘people have to work’, the otherside of me says you should not do anything you dont like – whats the right balance/mind frame to have?

  6. Yaz Turker · August 26, 2011

    Hi CND, thanks for your comment. Gosh, this is such a complex question so I’m going to answer it honestly, and from my point of view. I am a firm believer in following your heart and doing what you truly love to do. If that means not making as much money as you might in a job that you hate, I believe the mental and physical benefits of doing something you love, rather than hate, are worth it. We do have to work, unless you choose to not work and live in a cave, but working doesn’t have to be a chore, or something you hate. I think that if you put your energy into your passions and your strengths, success and money will come anyway. That said, there are going to be times in our lives where we want to quit and walk out the door – and sometimes that’s not always the best thing to do in the long run. If I were you, I would look at your situation and think about why you’re unhappy at work, what it is you really want to be doing, and how you can take steps to get there. If that means starting a project on the side in order to make the transition, that might have to be a sacrifice you make for your future happiness.
    My husband also has an interesting take on work – his belief is that work allows you to do things you love and gives you freedom. He has a completely different mentality to me on this one, but one that’s equally worthy of thought. It’s a means to a wonderful end for him, and something he never dwells on as he knows it allows him freedom to do other things he truly enjoys. That said, he requires a job with lots of freedom and one that doesn’t tie him to his desk.
    My point (after all this) is that do what works for you. Start with a list and look at your dream outcome and dream life. Think big. Don’t be scared. And the answers should come. Eventually. In the meantime, start filling your non work time with things you adore doing and suddenly work will just become a distant fuzz in the background. Hopefully.
    Stay happy,
    Yxx

  7. Kimberley · August 31, 2011

    One of the (many) things I love about your blog Yaz is that you’re always pushing people to really listen internally which is something that can be tricky to do (especially with everyone being so busy). Once you find what truly makes you happy and make a real effort to live your life in line with what you love and believe, everything changes in such a magical way (which I am sure you’re finding at the moment).
    Hope you’re having a blast in NYC – keep smiling and blogging. We all love your little ray of sunshine on the Internet. xx

    • Yaz Turker · September 4, 2011

      What a beautiful comment. Thank you so much xx

  8. Pingback: Happy Moments: An Interview with Diana Charabin | The Happiness Cocktail

Leave a Reply

