Losing your shit on holidays is much easier than I’d ever imagined

It’s easy to practice the art of patience and equilibrium when you’re not really in a hurry to be anywhere. Flight delays, traffic jams, monsoonal showers…sure, I’ll take them all as long as the general gist of our trip isn’t too interrupted.

Or so I thought.

You see, Happies, I am now discovering that your patience metre is tested more on holidays, than in any other life situation. Things that would normally take you 2 minutes, somehow clock up to 30 minutes when you’re away from home. Add language barriers in there and you have yourself one seriously fail-proof recipe for losing your shit.

In the last two days we have encountered the following:

1. A micro-sleeping taxi driver

2. Monsoonal rain storms

3. Over 30 hours of travel and transit time

4. Sitting in an airport for 10 hours due to a flight delay of 5 hours

Clearly, this is more than your average Friday in Sydney would throw at you. But I’m not complaining. Not for one single second. In fact, if the truth be told, I’m grateful for having my usually casual and hard-to-shake temper tested in these new and exciting ways. It’s invigorating! Educational! And a little bit annoying, too.

Since becoming aware that you can, in fact, choose to live in a more balanced, harmonious state, my reaction to certain situations has most definitely changed. In the past, I would have been agitated, pissed off and placing blame on everyone else around me for causing such an inconvenience. Now, things are slightly different. I may feel that rise of blood pressure pumping through my veins, but the second I become aware of it, I remind myself that stressing, or blaming, or getting mad really won’t change the outcome.

So, next time you’re stuck in traffic, ready to get your boxing gloves on and get all road rage-y, remember that sure, it is a massive inconvenience, but getting mad, placing blame and losing your shit isn’t really going to change anything. Unless, of course, your taxi driver is falling asleep at the wheel. In which case a slap across the cheeks is a matter of life or death (OK. And maybe a little bit of anger thrown in there for fun.)

Tell me Happies…

Do you find that travelling tests your patience, too?

Are you quick to lose your shit?

Or, do you have the art of equilibrium under control? If so, share your tips here.

6 comments

  1. Rachael · May 20, 2011

    I miss you roomie

    • Yaz Turker · May 20, 2011

      I miss you too gorgeous girl. I think you’d love Croatia by the way, it’s very much a roomie place. Hope you’re well and say hi to S-man for me. Lots of love, Yx

  2. Casey · May 20, 2011

    Hi,
    I just got the latest issue of Cleo Mag and was lucky enough to see the article you are featured in and decided to check out your blog. I am so grateful to have found it, so many of the thoughts you write about are relevant to me. Just out of interest I would love to hear your thoughts on friends, at the moment I haven’t got the social life/friendships I think is ‘ideal’ and its causing me a lot of unhappiness and I cant stop thinking of ways to make friends and how ‘unhappy’ I am that I don’t have the friends ‘I think I’d like.’ Do you think friends are an essential ingredient to happiness? It seems to me that I am thinking ‘If I had the perfect social life I would be happy’ but I truly am not sure this would be the case, why cant being content come easily to some?

    • Yaz Turker · May 20, 2011

      Hi Casey,

      I’m so glad you found my blog too. Thank you for taking the time to look it up.

      So, now onto the good bit – the response to your question. In my opinion the first place to find happiness is in yourself. So, while friends do definitely play a part, if that’s an area of your life that’s causing you unhappiness, I’d say look at why this is the case and really focus on finding happiness in yourself, rather than looking to others to do it for you. We are our own best friends at the end of the day.

      If I were you, I’d focus all that energy you are putting into finding friends, into doing things for yourself that you really love. Sign up for yoga, do a cooking class, take photography lessons, whatever you lovenor are interested in, now is the time to do it.

      I’m pretty sure once you start becoming mates with yourself and focusing your energy on positive things, you’ll be surrounded by awesome like-minded people that you truly love and that love you back.

      I hope that helps. Try not to worry too much, I’ve been there too. We all have.

      Lots of love,

      Yx

      • Casey · May 20, 2011

        I can’t thank you enough for your response, reading it actually made me feel this huge sense of relief and lightness inside! What you said really makes sense and I definitely didn’t think lack of social life should be causing me as much grief as it is so it sounds like I need to dig a bit deeper and focus on a relationship with me!

        Hope your having a nice time and thank you again so very much πŸ™‚

        Casey

  3. Lucy · May 21, 2011

    Just reading your blog makes me feel more balanced and

Leave a Reply

