Fill your shopping basket with these tasty treats

With the change of not only seasons, but months too, comes a whole new variety of tasty fruit and vegetables we really need to be eating. You see, Happies, if you were yet to understand, I am a huge advocate of seasonal eating, and find that knowing which fruits and vegetables are actually in season every month, makes grocery shopping about 10,000 times simpler. And I like simple very much.

So, as April quickly approaches, now would be the time to tell you what to keep your eyes out for at the market, or your local vege man, or Harris Farm. And hopefully not Coles or Woolies, if it can be avoided.

1. Avocados (of the Shepard variety) – Yessss! These suckers are coming back and my lettuce cup sandwiches and I are stoked.

2. Fennel – Pork’s best made fennel is officially in season in April, so definitely look at some new ways to introduce this aniseedy flavour into your cooking.

3. Watercress – one green definitely worth digging into is old-mate cress, whose ability to fight free radicals rivals that of Superman. Or Blueberries even. Stick him in a salad or on some bread with curried egg and poached chicken.

4. Pomegranate – With the amazing ability to morph any salad into a taste sensation, and the odd capability of turning your teeth red when you eat too many of them, the pomegranate is another wonder ingredient worth getting your hands on. I like to eat them plain, or in salads, but they also go great guns with chicken and even duck. Yum!

5. Baby Eggplant – I love eggplant so much, I used it as my main ingredient when trying out for Masterchef last year. True story. I proudly made it through to the top 100, and after watching the show, I’m thrilled I didn’t get any further as my ass would have been kicked from here to food heaven. And back again. I’d vote for you to try this moussaka recipe if you’re looking for something new to do with these aubergine-coloured delights.

Other fruit and vege worth keeping your eyes out for next month include: Custard Apples, Mushrooms, Sweet Corn, Sweet Potato, Brussels Sprouts, Asian Greens, Pears, Apples, Kiwifruit, Lemons and for something a little less ordinary, Mangosteens.

Which, if you’re curious, look like this when they’re peeled…

That’s it from the markets (or whatever they say in those bloody Woolies ads)…

Tell me Happies…

What are some ways to use these fruit and vege?

Do you eat seasonally?

Do you think we need more education and advice on what’s in season each month?

6 comments

  1. glowmakeupartistry · March 30, 2011

    I could live on eggplant (and chocolate!) so I’m glad to know it’s in season. I’m going to start my very own vegie garden soon so I better brush up on what grows when . Thanks for the tips 🙂

  2. Tanya · March 31, 2011

    Love the hints Yaz! Thanking you!
    Also wondering what you eat through the day as snacks? I’m overhauling my diet at the moment and am struggling for mid morning and 3pm snacks!

  3. Annette @ Wellnesss WA · April 1, 2011

    Woo hoo! I love seasonal eating. Specially organic.

    Yas, have you ever looked into getting a box of organic fruit n veg delivered to you each week?

    They end up sending you a really varied mix each week, of the freshest, best quality, locally grown and in season fruit and veg.

    It is honestly one of the best things I have ever done for my wellbeing!

    • Yaz Turker · April 6, 2011

      Annette, I’ve thought about getting a box delivered but never have. I think it’s something I’m definitely going to look into. Good one! Thanks for the tip xx

  4. Cewek Penasaran · April 8, 2011

    wuhuiiiiiiiiiiii…. very cool

  5. Pingback: Why raw is just so rad | The Happiness Cocktail

Leave a Reply

