Rasta Porridge. Weird name, great taste

Or so I think, Happies. But the truth of the matter is I haven’t actually tried this recipe yet, it’s probably more of a summer thing with the ingredients involved, but hey, it’s worth popping in your pocket and pulling out in a few months time when mangoes are gleaming back at us from their market stall tables.

The name of the recipe is Rasta Porridge, and I discovered it while watching one of my favourite TV shows, No Reservations with Anthony Bourdain. There’s something so profoundly opposite to my personality in Bourdain that I find myself totally in awe of his every cynical word. It’s hilarious really.

So last night, Tony was in Jamaica – a place not quite as picturesque as you’d imagine. Or at least, not quite as picturesque as I had imagined. Sure, there are palm trees and cocktails (and incidentally, lots of grass of the smoking kind) but the rest, I’m afraid, is all tarnished by the murky waters of crime, poverty and one seriously wicked marketing campaign targeted at over-stressed wealthy types with a penchant for parties and beaches.

But this isn’t a travel piece about Jamaica, it’s a blog about Rasta Porridge, which I happened to stumble upon while watching the show last night. Somewhere between crawling into caves festooned with bat dung and wild cats, and eating cow foot stew (yes, he did!), Tony found a Rastafari man to cook for him.

The Rasta culture is a vegan one, with eating beliefs much like the raw-food loving, freshly seasonal ingredient worshiping types among us. Their cooking is healthy. Very healthy. And of all the weird and delicious looking things Tony ate (minus the cow foot stew), it’s the stuff of the Rasta that had me dribbling most.

Especially this – The Rasta Porridge – which is a typical breakfast in the Rastafarian community. All the ingredients are raw, blended together like a smoothie and drunk out of a bowl, rather than a glass for the true authentic experience.

Let’s take a look at what’s inside…

Pumpkin seeds

Coconut water

Papaya

Mango

Banana

Sesame Tahini

All you need to do is chuck all these ingredients into a blender. Whiz. Drink. Or, if you’re feeling lazy, maybe this guy will do it for you…

I have to say, for a breakfast shake this sounds absolutely delicious, and when I try it out, I think I might even add some nuts to it just for kicks. It will be interesting to see how the tahini pans out, but with all those delightful ingredients in there, I think it’s going to be a winner! For me at least.

Tell me Happies…

Do you like the sound of this breakfast?

Have you tried anything like it?

Are you into No Reservations, too?

5 comments

  1. Elisha · March 3, 2011

    Hi Yaz – No Reservations is one of my favourites too! That Rasta porridge sounds interesting, have never tried anything like that. Will have to give it a go next summer – thanks!

  2. Bec · March 4, 2011

    Hi Yaz, can you recommend some other good health/wellness blogs to read. I need something to supplement me in between your posts. Thanks

    • Annette @ Wellnesss WA · March 5, 2011

      Bec… I’m recommending you MY blog, Wellness WA!

      Even if you’re not from WA we focus on a lot of great general content πŸ™‚ x

  3. Haloface · March 22, 2011

    I enjoyed the Jamaica episode of No Reservations. The Rasta food made my mouth water. I could feel the pounds and toxins coming out of me just thinking about it. I would like to know what the greens concoction with the garlic and couscous consisted of.

    • Anonymous · February 5, 2013

      No doubt. I just saw that episode the other day and I really watching rasta hook up the fresh food and drink. Very stimulating!

Leave a Reply

