Have bags, will travel

And by bags, I mean tea bags of course. Although, I am lugging an excessive amount of luggage over to New York City today, but hey, it’s winter and I need big, bulky, snuggly things like my poncho and boots and other such space hoggers.

Anyway Happies, as I sit here in the Qantas Lounge at Sydney airport, tapping away at my laptop, practicing some egg-laying breaths and sipping on green tea, it came to my attention that tea has become a huge part of my life to date.

Every morning, my bf and I take about 30 minutes to share a huge pot of green tea and talk about the day ahead. These precious moments have become routine for us, and allow us to spend quality time together before the craziness of the day kicks in and we get lost in translation. Well, I might, he on the other hand has everything perfectly balanced out. Clever man.

But it’s not just Alex and I who have brought the ritual of tea into our lives. When I think back to my childhood, I was always making tea for my parents, nurturing their different choices (mum was white with one, dad was black with honey) and desperately hoping it was just the right sweetness.

Which brings me back to where I’m at right now, sipping on a green and lemon tea and enjoying every second of it. The benefits of green tea are well researched and include everything from inhibiting cancer to lowering cholesterol. But personally, I just like the taste.

If, like me, you’re a tea nut, I’d also recommend you try some of these winning blends:

1. Chamomile: Old mate Cham is a life-saver when it comes to stressful situations. Known for its calming abilities, anti-inflammatory and anti-spasmodic properties, this is one to try when you’re stressed or need to chill out. In summer, you can also have it chilled with a touch of honey and lots of ice. YUM!

2. Chrysantemum: Is a super sweet tasting brew that is wonderful when you have a fever. There’s some funky thing in it that helps you cool down. It’s also said to protect your liver (from too many drinks) as well as neutralize toxins in the body.

3. Cinnamon: Is another calming tea that is thought to support healthy circulation and digestion. Pop a pot of this on if you’re bloated or need to rest.

4. Fennel: Is an amazing digestive aid. It does taste like licorice, so be warned if you’re not a fan, but the benefits sure outweigh the average taste, Happies.

5. Ginger: My go-to guy when I have an upset tummy is ginger. This tea has been used for centuries as a herbal remedy used to treat a wide range of health concerns from nausea and colds to indigestion and migraine headaches. Add some honey and mint in there too if you want to boost the flavour. Delicious!

6. Hibiscus: Jamie Oliver did an amazing version of hibiscus tea on ice, which I LOVE. He simply added hot water, lemonade, mint and lots of ice and it turned into this beautiful pink delight. Not only is it pretty, hibiscus tea has also shown to help reduce high blood pressure and soothe period paid. Yep, period pain. Get on that one girlies.

Well, my teacup is empty and my flight is about to board so I’d better shuffle off to my seat. In the meantime, enjoy your morning brew Happies. I sure did.

Tell me Happies…

What’s your favourite herbal tea?

Do you make tea for your loved ones too?

What’s your ritual with your mates, bf or family?

7 comments

  1. Julie · February 10, 2011

    You are so right, tea is such a ritual, we always brew a pot in my house and we have too cosies we use too, as is the would you like a “hot drop” ritual!!. Dilmah Extra stength brewed for ages is the only one strong enough for me!! Right now Im sipping a mammoth tea… green tea bag + a lemon and ginger bag all in one rather large mug,with a slice of fresh ginger and lime. Hugely Yummy!! Saw Jamie’s Hibiscus tea, was dying to make, tried and failed to get them in Woolies though, the search continues. I am also going to start back on dandelion tea, the best for detoxing, takes a bit of getting used too, but fine once you do. you reminded me I need to get some- thanks. Enjoy NY (jealous!!)

  2. Georgia · February 10, 2011

    Hey Yaz,
    I’m a HUGE fan of Ginger tea, however the brand i love (Dilmah) seem to be fazing out their fabulous ginger tea bags. Do you have a personal fav when it comes to this delish tea flavour? I’m in desperate need of a recommendation!
    safe flying lucky lady!
    x

  3. Casey.Maree · February 10, 2011

    I have a cup of tea every morning when I get to work, its a little different when everyone else is having coffee, but I like the idea of starting my day off nice and calm with a cuppa instead of with a frantic caffeine hit.
    P.S. My faves at the moment are Green Tea with Mint, and Chai Tea.

  4. hollyjcurtis · February 10, 2011

    I’ve only recently got on the tea-wagon, and I can only drink herbal teas. In a short space of time, I have amassed a huge amount of pretty tea pots, cups and saucers. My ritual is when I sit down to the computer to do a whole lot of writing, I have a freshly brewed large tea pot full of green drink to sip while I think and type. I love it! My latest favourite is peach green tea by T2 – so delicious!

    Enjoy NY Yaz! x

  5. Alana · February 12, 2011

    I am such a tea nut! I love the idea of sitting down and having some tea with my boyfriend before work. I am inspired! Having tea is such a relaxing pastime.
    My favorite teas are the Natural Green tea with Goji Berry and Pomegranate by Celestial Seasonings, Slim Plus by Dr Stuarts and the Strawberries & Cream and Turkish Apple teas from T2. I’m kind of obsessed!
    Hope you’re having a fantastic time in NYC!
    Alana

  6. Lucy · February 16, 2011

    Any recs for the best place to get hibiscus tea from? I looooove this stuff and want to drink more of it!

  7. Pingback: Looking For a Delicious Herbal Tea? I’ve Found One | The Happiness Cocktail

Leave a Reply

