Happy Question: Cookbook recommendation, please?

Man-o-man time has slipped past me this week, Happies. As a result, posts have been a little on the slim side but I’m sure you’re all understanding and I do apologise for my lack of correspondence.

Yesterday, I received an email from your fellow Happy asking about any cookbook recommendations for recipes like the ones I cook at home. Of course I do, I shouted, before being whisked off and side-tracked and unable to respond. Until now!

My ultimate cookbook recommendation would be Wholefood by Jude Blereau. Put it this way, Jude is my food icon, she’s all about nourishing your body with healthy food that’s not just good for you, but insanely tasty too.

Here’s the cover so you can keep an eye out at Borders…

While this is my favourite book of Jude’s, she’s also written Wholefood for Children and Coming Home to Eat – Wholefood for the Family, both of which make her style of cooking totally simple to recreate at home.

The best part about Wholefood is that there’s plenty of vegan, vegetarian and wheat and gluten-free options in there. Plus, Jude takes regular recipes and makes them healthy. Like lasagna and other fun foods. Gosh, I love her. In fact, I love her so much I’d do anything to make my way to Perth and do one of her cooking courses. They’re meant to be insane.

If, like me, you’re a bit of a food lover, you could always get inspiration from cookbooks and chefs like Jamie Oliver and Donna Hay and recreate them in your own style. Jamie and Donna are wonderful at using seasonal ingredients, which is something I always try to do at home, too.

Donna Hay Seasons is a wonderful option for tasty, easy to make food, plus the styling is inspirational. It takes you through recipes suitable for each season, with ingredients that are around at that time of year. Oh, and in case you’re not familiar with the benefits of eating food in season, it comes down to freshness, price and taste. Foods that are in season are always fresher (as they haven’t been frozen for months), cheaper (as they haven’t been shipped in from overseas and there’s an abundance in terms of supply) and of course, they taste nicer, because they’re fresh. Yum.

If you’ve read both of these, head into your local bookstore and ask them for any cookbooks relating to seasonal, organic and wholefood cooking. Otherwise, take some of your favourite recipes and think about ways to swap the bad ingredients for the good ones. For example, I switch butter for olive oil (yep, even on toast) and switch regular cheese for goats cheese, or nothing at all.

Oh, and before you think I’m a dairy Grinch, I still eat it, I just separate my dairy from my protein and fruits as it muddles up the absorption of goodness. But, that’s a whole other post.

I hope that helps, and keep the questions coming.

Tell me Happies…

Have you tried either of these cookbooks?

What are some of your favourite healthy cookbooks?

 

 

6 comments

  1. hollyjcurtis · February 8, 2011

    Ah! Thank you SO much for responding to my request Yaz! I’m so excited to rush into Borders and find the Wholefood cookbook.. it sounds fantastic! And yes, aren’t Donna Hay’s cook books stunning.

    I look forward to the post where you explain this intriguing protein and dairy separation idea..

    H x

  2. Julie · February 9, 2011

    Oh- must have a look at Wholefood in Borders, I seem to spend my life in there having a nosey at things!!

    Am excited about Janella Purcell’s new book ‘Eating For The Season’ – Cooking For Health and Happiness’ – out May supposodly lots of gluten free, dairy free, vegetarian and vegan . I love what she does- healthier versions of every day foods and she always has such good tips on better for you alternatives!!

  3. Emma from Urban Remedy Cleanse · February 9, 2011

    I have Wholefoods by Jude Blereau too and love it, but by far and away, my absolute, absolute favourite is The Golden Door cookbook. My copy is very well worn. My fave recipes are the smoked salmon lasagne and the minted asparagus soup.

  4. crystaldance · February 10, 2011

    I LOVE Nigella Lawson. Her “Nigella Express” is great with quick, healthy comfort foods. If a recipe has only called for egg whites, she’ll give you a lovely suggestion on what to do with the egg yolks…
    I’m a vegetarian – many of her recipes are not – but they can be easily adapted – like you say Yaz!

  5. Raquel · February 10, 2011

    Donna Hay’s Seasons is one of my new personal favourite cook books too – the falafel, pea and herb recipe on pg 18 is a BIG winner. Also, I just love The Global Vegetarian Kitchen – Troth Wells. It is amazing – diverse cultures, simple, seasonal – well worth a look!
    xo

  6. Pingback: Sunday Best: Healthy Eggplant Moussaka | The Happiness Cocktail

Leave a Reply

