Stoke the fire of your senses when on safari. Or just in nature.

I have a problem.Β  Not a giant problem, more a conundrum in the form of wanting to write about every tiny little morsel of my latest adventure, but risk not only boring you (does anyone really care about holiday stories apart from the person who just went on holiday?) but also not knowing exactly where to start this post. Hence, the jabbering introduction in which I’m hoping hasn’t made you tune out yet. Don’t! It’s about to get good. I think.

You see, Happies, I’ve just returned from a little over two weeks in Mauritius and South Africa and as expected, the trip was everything I’d hoped for it to be plus a little bit more. The idea of having time away from computers, work and general life annoyances like washing the dishes and soaking your whites is pleasant to anyone, unless you hate travelling in which case it’s your worst nightmare. But as that’s only a small percentage of the population, let’s assume you too think it sounds as delightful as I do.

But rather than rehash each and every activity that took up my time while away, I will sum it up and let you in on the main insight I discovered while away. As a city dweller, I find that we are blessed in so many ways. Especially here in Australia. We have beaches, safety, cars, running water and even welfare, something that many of our fellow international friends do not.

However, after spending time at Kruger National Park, driving around the solitary plains of the South African back-country, it dawned on me that while we are lucky to live in the city, there’s something to be said for the life of a country cat.

On arrival at Kruger, it was astounding to me how much my senses were actually, well, sensing. Living in the city, the raw smell of fresh animal dung, trees, earth…nature is something we completely miss out on. And that became apparent to me the second we started driving around. My senses were in overdrive – my nose, eyes, ears…everything was soaking up the new sensations involved in being at one with nature.

Here’s a visual of what I’m talking about…

Safari - Kapama Game Reserve South Africa
I’ve been told many times by both my yoga instructor and Glenn that when life is getting on top of you, the best way to come back down to earth is to get into nature. Take a walk on the beach or in a park, but most importantly, have your bare feet touch the earth. This, in turn, grounds you, helping you leave your head and all the thoughts in it, and become more ‘grounded’, literally.

This theory couldn’t have been more greatly tested than on safari. Everything around you screams nature. Screams instinct. Screams everything the city is not. Your heart is beating as you tractor down a dirt road, in hot pursuit of the male lion or in search of the infamous leopard. You can see, smell, hear nature at its best and for that, you feel more alive than ever before. Or, at least I did.

So, while going on safari might not be an option right now for everyone, I do urge you to head to your nearest beach, park or sanctuary of some sort, take off your shoes, lie down and let nature overtake you. It’s a splendid thing, I promise you that much.

Tell me Happies…

Have you ever been on safari?

What do you do to stay grounded?

Do you take time out to escape the city and get into nature? If so, how?

2 comments

  1. Zoe · January 27, 2011

    I’ve never been on safari but I’m absolutely dying to. It’s on my bucket list for sure.

    I usually take a walk down to the beach and squidge the sand between my toes. Or I just lie on the grass in the backyard. We have super soft grass πŸ™‚

  2. natashajean · January 28, 2011

    I used to live in South Africa when I was little so I’ve been on many safaris. Unfortunately I was too young to be able to remember anything, so I’m counting down till 2014 when my dad is taking me once he retires.

    Sounds like you had a fabulous trip! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

