Time ‘off’ is equally as important as time ‘on’

But you already know that. Of course you do Happies, because everyone knows that there’s no better way to push refresh than to literally do so. On the beach in Mauritius, if possible.

And that’s exactly what I’ll be doing as of tomorrow eve, as I jet off to Mauritius, Kruger National Park, Cape Town and the Garden Route for the next three weeks. Weee!

But before I do, there’s the issue of actually ‘switching off’. In a recent functional assessment I had with Glenn it was clearly written that I need to take more time to do NOTHING, rather than disguise relaxation as yoga, or boxing, or stand up paddle boarding, or yes, even a holiday.

I’m sure many of you will agree that it’s hard to switch off, do nothing, and really, truly relax. Sitting on the couch watching the news doesn’t count, in fact, according to Glenn not even meditation counts, as technically, you’re doing ‘something’.

The concept of sitting peacefully for a short (or long) while and contemplating your thoughts seems impossible, almost farcical, for some. My mother, for one, is completely incapable of ever switching her ‘off’ button on and remains in a rather exhausting state of adrenal overload for the entirety of her day. She’s a delight, don’t get me wrong, but there’s no chance of ever relaxing with her. Impossible.

Which has me asking WHY? Why is it that so many of us are unable to be with ourselves, quietly listening to what’s going on inside our heads and allowing ourselves to do nothing. It’s almost like we should feel guilty for not being busy 24/7. I read in my glorious Stephanie Dowrick book last night about how we are the only person who will spend every minute of every day with ourselves. It’s so TRUE. No one spends more time with you than, well, you. So, why not hang out, rest, relax and make friends with ourselves, rather than feel guilty or look for ways to distract ourselves from, yep you guessed it, ourselves. It’s pretty funny when you think about it.

I am in the early learning stages of this Happies. My boyfriend has taught me the art of the 33% split when it comes to life. He does, and always has, lived in a perfectly balanced state of 33% health, 33% wealth and 33% happiness. In everyday language, he splits his time seamlessly between exercising and remaining active, working and making money, and spending time with me or sometimes, doing sweet F.A. Gosh!

I’m not lying when I say this took me by surprise. Especially when we first started dating and I’d discover he was having a nap at 3pm or down at the beach at 10am with mates. Swimming. Pft. In case you’re wondering, he’s in a work role where he is on the road and has insanely flexible hours, but amongst all that swimming and napping he is also the highest performing worker in his multinational company, and just recently won ‘Rising Star of the Year’. All that in four hours work a day. Crazy, I know.

But while this may not work for everyone, it was this amazing ability to make life whatever you want it that sent me on this beautiful journey in the first place. I was skeptical at the beginning, trust me. But after slowly making necessary changes to my life that included doing more of what I love, taking more time to turn off and enjoy the simple things in life, I have, in a crazy turn of events, become far more productive, chilled and inspired. Winner.

So, on that note, I bid you au revoir, for a short while at least. Mainly due to the fact that there’s no reception on safari, and also because I’ll be practicing equanimity, and the art of doing nothing. Ahhh, bliss.

Tell me Happies…

Do you have trouble switching off?

Are you planning any holidays soon?

Been to Mauritius or South Africa? Any tips?

9 comments

  1. Lana · January 5, 2011

    Have an ace holiday yaz! Looking fwd to more of your posts when you are back. Xx

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Time ‘off’ is equally as important as time ‘on’ | The Happiness Cocktail -- Topsy.com
  3. Div · January 5, 2011

    Enjoy your trip! I hope you have plenty of time to practice doing nothing and getting to know (and like!) yourself better 🙂
    I have a similar resolution for this year, thanks for sharing the books, I’ll look them up.

  4. Annette @ Wellnesss WA · January 6, 2011

    I too find it hard to switch off, and count yoga, meditation and listening to relaxation cds as ‘switching off’ time.

    Have a happy holiday! I’m going to Melbs on Friday so that’s my holiday, WHEE SHOPPING! x

  5. Pingback: The 33% rule « one big balancing act
  6. Alexandra · January 8, 2011

    What beautifully timed post. Just last night I was lamenting to my boy that I never have any time for me but whenever I have a spare pocket of time I get the guilts and cram it with things to do. Will definitely be trying the 33% rule! Here’s hoping!

  7. Pingback: Signs of Happiness: Postive Signs At Work | The Happiness Cocktail
  8. Pingback: Have bags, will travel | The Happiness Cocktail
  9. Pingback: Sunday Best: ‘Give me a hug’ lemon stuffed chicken | The Happiness Cocktail

Leave a Reply

