Make Your Mark on 2011

The dawn of a new year is always an exciting projection. There’s the chance to build on the success of the previous year, or, if you’ve had a shocker, it’s an opportunity to put the past behind you and make this sparkly new year a winner. It’s a clean slate, obviously, and a time for you to think about what the next year is going to bring you. Or rather, what you’re going to bring you.

For me, there’s plenty of travel on the agenda, with an upcoming trip to South Africa and Mauritius, followed by a week in New York, some time in Turkey with my family mid-year and who knows what after that. I’m also dedicating even more time to The Happiness Cocktail, as it’s something that brings me more pleasure than, well, that Eton Mess I made the other night.

I’m sticking with the meditation and upping it to daily. I’m going to train for the New York marathon just like Oprah and I’m going to make more time to give back to the community. I’ve talked a little on THC about how the notion of community is being lost in the Western world. We (meaning I) haven’t even taken the time to chat to my neighbour and learn their name. This, Happies, is about to change. This year, I am keen to hold out my hand and meet people. Actually meet them. Talk to strangers, listen to the wise elderly ladies at the bus stop, chat to the man standing awkwardly next to me in the lift. Mix. Communicate. Learn.

Funnily enough, the Lord Mayor and creative director of the Sydney New Year’s Eve celebrations agree. This year, in case you’ve missed the news, there will be a giant hand made out of sparklers on the Harbour Bridge as our sign for the coming year. The meaning? MAKE YOUR MARK. Mix with your community, get involved and forge friendships with those around you. All that from one giant hand made out of fireworks. Wowza.

At the end of the day, new year’s resolutions are there as a guide, Happies. It’s great to have goals to work towards, and if you make small goals and achieve them regularly, you know that happiness is ahead. It’s a proven formula.

So, let’s all make our mark on 2011 Happies and set small goals to achieve regularly. I have a feeling 2011 is going to be the best year yet. Don’t you?

Tell me Happies…

What are your new year resolutions?

Are you looking forward to 2011?

One comment

  1. millie · January 4, 2011

    That really sounds amazing Yaz, wow New york marathon! Your officially my hero. hehe. My resolutions include; Traveling alone and volunteering abroad, making new friends, practicing yoga and a positive frame of mind (being in the now) …… I have a lengthy list but they are just some of them.

    What an inspirational blog you have made!

Leave a Reply

