Power Up Your Positive Affirmations

Aha, I’m back Happies and ready to bring in 2011 with even more positivity than I end 2010 with. After a brief hiatus in which I ate far too much Christmas ham and drank far too many glasses of champagne, I am feeling revived and ready to tackle the next year. Of course, I have 3 weeks in South Africa to look forward to from the 6th of January, but more on that later. Today, it’s all about positive affirmations and how they really, seriously, truly work when you want them to.

I have read many, many times that ENERGY FLOWS WHERE ATTENTION GOES. That’s right, when you think about something enough, all your energy is poured into that subject like gravy over Christmas turkey and the more you think about it, the more real it becomes. This, of course, is the case in a whole manner of things and definitely not reserved only for positive situations.

How many times have we focussed on a negative or scary image in our head, only to realise that, yes, it is in fact coming true before our eyes because we’re making it happen? Case in point: I once had a friend who was convinced her boyfriend was cheating on her. She obsessed about this to the point of despair, swearing that he was unfaithful. The result? She drove him away with her craziness only to find out that no, he wasn’t cheating, but her fear of losing him had, in fact, done just that and had the opportunity been presented to him in the form of a not-at-all jealous girl wanting to enjoy his dreamy eyes and calm demeanour, perhaps he would have taken her up on said offer. Just saying.

Of course, I am not saying that cheating is OK, or that it’s the girl’s fault. Every situation is different and I can’t make judgements on that, but what I can say is that my friend’s constant belief and fear of losing her man made it a reality. True story. But it’s not sadness, she’s now found the love of her life and has realised the errors of her ways, like so many of us do after a not-so-positive situation.

Recently, I’ve been thinking more about the power of positive affirmations, partly due to my meditation course and partly due to a book my beautiful boyfriend gave me for my birthday – Choosing Happiness – Life & Soul Essentials by Stephanie Dowrick. If you haven’t read this book, may I suggest you do. There’s not one page I don’t look at with adoring eyes. It’s glorious, and further proof I am a massive nerd.

There were two distinct areas of my life that needed attention. The first was about finances (hey everyone could do with a bit more cashola – except you Donald Trump, you’ve got enough) and the other was around fears. I am not afraid to admit that I am scared of far too many things in my life and am ready to change that mindset.

So, over the past two or so months, I’ve been saying to myself everyday that my income is constantly increasing and that my loved ones and I are always supported and safe in everything we do. Sounds a little loopy, I am aware, but honestly Happies, the changes are insane. Freaky even.

Firstly, about two weeks into the mad manifestation, my accountant called me to tell me they’d been working on my parent’s tax and as a result, I will be receiving a rather nice sum from the tax department. Tick. She then emailed me the next day to say they’d overlooked something so that figure she told me yesterday was now doubled. DOUBLED. Double tick. I then received two freelance jobs that were paying wonderfully, and went to Medicare with two old receipts in the hope I’d swap them for peanuts and walked out with $270. This never happens. Medicare never gives you hundreds unless you’ve had a set of dentures put in for $20,000. The positive affiramtions were working.

In regards to the fear factor, this is another area where my thoughts are drifting away from focussing on what could and would go wrong (let’s put it down to being a creative type and having an insane imagination) and moving towards focussing on where to go next. Shark diving in Africa? Heck yes. I’m safe remember.

There are thousands of books, journals, thoughts and beliefs on the power of positive thinking. Gosh, the woman from The Secret made millions out of it. There’s truth to it, it makes sense and if you don’t believe me, take this guys word for it. I listen to him everyday…

Yes, these A Little Bird Told Me Affirmations are, by far, the cutest way of remembering that there’s a lot to be happy about in this life. Even shark diving and taxes and yep, even Medicare queues.

Tell me Happies…

Do you practice positive affirmations?
Do you want to start?

12 comments

  1. Frou Frou · December 29, 2010

    Havebeen following all your gorgeousness on Primped for a while but I’ve just recently discovered your personal blog. What a lovely post to kick off the new year! I love how practical your thoughts on affirmations and intention manifestation are. Thanks for the inspiration!

    • Yaz Turker · December 30, 2010

      Thank you so much Frou Frou, that’s so lovely of you. It’s always nice hearing positive feedback. Have a beautiful day. Yx

  2. Nikki Parkinson · December 29, 2010

    Yes, I do, Yaz. And I find if I get off track and don’t do them and think positive thoughts, the very opposite does happen x

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention Power Up Your Positive Affirmations | The Happiness Cocktail -- Topsy.com
  4. Megan · December 29, 2010

    I NEED to start… Or else I will drive away the man I adore just like your friend! I also am embarking on a change to a smaller city to be with him and need to find work etc so I am keen to start.
    Googled the book already, thanks Yaz-have a fantastic 2011!!
    πŸ™‚

    • Yaz Turker · December 30, 2010

      Megan, that’s amazing news. I hope you enjoy the book as much as I do. Wishing you a glorious 2011. Yxx

      • Megan · December 30, 2010

        Thanks Yaz-it is on order now!
        πŸ™‚

  5. Genevieve · January 2, 2011

    As of recently, yes! But to back it up I’ve also started working on relationships with people who encourage this frame of mind as opposed to feeding courtesy friendships with people who define themselves by all the things they hate about the world. Makes a big difference!

  6. Rachel · January 4, 2011

    I adore Stephanie Dowrick’s book. It is one of those books that I always reach for when I need a little inspiration or clarity. I particularly like the the chapter ‘Consider Others’, where she talks about how you affect everyone with whom you come into contact, even if you think it is an insignificant interaction, and asks the question ‘are they better or worse off for knowing you’?. I love how thought provoking the book is, and how it forces you to stand back and examine your own actions and behaviours, and their consequences. Would definitely recommend to anyone!

  7. Pingback: Time ‘off’ is equally as important as time ‘on’ | The Happiness Cocktail
  8. Pingback: And the true journey of life begins…NOW! | The Happiness Cocktail
  9. Pingback: Lesson #4: Reading is a key ingredient to growing | The Happiness Cocktail

Leave a Reply

