Every saucepan has a matching lid

My dad is THE man when it comes to sayings. He literally has a witty anecdote or proverb for every situation. Be it fat around your belly, or, for a deeper option, he has a saying about material possessions and how they don’t make you happy. It revolves around a donkey and a king and a very expensive coat. I’m sure it will creep its way onto this here blog one day.

But that day isn’t today, Happies, as there is one beautiful saying that my dad has told both my sister and I over the years when we’ve found ourselves in the midst of a breakup and wondering if Mr Right will ever come along.

In the wake of not one, but two, celebrity breakups today (Megan Gale and Andy Lee and Scarlett Johansson and Ryan Reynolds) it makes perfect sense to share this magical saying as a sweet reminder that breakups are the shittest things in the world, but there’s always a silver lining.

Gosh, I almost feel like I’ve amped it up too much now, but here goes…

“Every saucepan has a matching lid”

For all its nonsense, this saying actually has profound meaning when you’re in the depths of breakup hell or dating disaster number 3650. In its less abstract form, this sweet little saying simply reminds us that we all have someone out there, waiting to seamlessly blend into our lives and ‘fit’ all snug and perfect.

So Megan, ScarJo and everyone else out there wondering if you’ll ever find The One, remember this little saying and enjoy every moment of letting your pot simmer and bubble over while you can. You just don’t know when that perfectly fitting lid might be found.

Stay Happy,

Yx

11 comments

  1. roxyallan · December 15, 2010

    This is such a beautiful post Yaz. Thanks.
    And doesn’t it feel amazing when you find your lid? Comforting, stable and oh so right.
    Rx

  2. Jess · December 15, 2010

    … and Zac & Vanessa, Dexter & his TV sister. ‘Tis the season for breaking up, or are people trying to get out of buying Xmas gifts?

  3. CC · December 15, 2010

    So beautiful, Yaz!
    Zac Efron and Vanessa Hudgens split recently, too. ‘Tis the season.
    T x

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention Every saucepan has a matching lid | The Happiness Cocktail -- Topsy.com
  5. Glow Makeup Artistry · December 15, 2010

    Cute saying Yaz! I like it. I was shocked when I heard about Megs and Andy. I hope they both find happiness πŸ™‚ Nat

  6. lifelikelola · December 15, 2010

    I gasped when I heard about Megan and Andy! …slightly pathetic.
    I too am in the midst of break up hell. I think you’re dad’s on to something.

  7. tegan · December 15, 2010

    gorgeous saying Yaz/Yaz’s dad. xx

  8. Rach · December 16, 2010

    OH MY GOD Yaz I just cracked up when I read this — my fiances Dad said that to him when we first got together! Something along the lines of (insert Dad/ Son D & M tone of voice)… “Son, every pot has it’s lid, and she’s yours.” Super cute. xxx

  9. Pingback: Seventy six years of marriage and still going strong | The Happiness Cocktail
  10. Pingback: Five ridiculously cheap ways to chill out | The Happiness Cocktail
  11. Abir Moustafa · March 31, 2011

    OMG My mum uses this saying as well… so cute ❀

Leave a Reply

