No Tan Jan, let’s jump on board

For all the ladies who endured the rough and tumble month of Movember, now is your chance to have a little fun of your own. This January, the wonderful Warwick Foundation – an organisation dedicated to supporting 18-40 year olds with cancer – is launching No Tan Jan, an entire month dedicated to ditching your sessions on the beach and absolutely abolishing that nasty death bed more commonly known as the solarium.

It still baffles me how sun beds continue to exist. They’ve even gone so far as to strengthen the laws against usage, but in my opinion, they need to just nix them altogether. Seriously. But of course, it’s not just the solarium who causes all the trouble, it’s the sun, too.

Sadly, melanoma is the most common form of cancer for 18-40 year olds. When you think that melanoma is, in fact, a preventable disease, it’s tragic to think of all the young lives lost simply because we weren’t strict enough with our sun regimen. Sure, you need to get some sun for your vitamin D levels, but anymore than 10 minutes a day, out of the hours of 11am-3pm is unnecessary.

Sure, I may be girl who wears sunscreen to get to the car in the morning, and am always a little shocked when I’m the only one at boot camp wearing a hat. Yes, it’s 6am but I’m not prepared to take the risk. Perhaps it’s my job – the constant reminder of skin ageing due to sun exposure is a big deterrent – or maybe it’s because my mum spent her life on the beach, coated in coconut oil, and had to have a cancer cut out of her nose. Whatever the reason, I know this for sure; risking your life (and your looks) for a tan simply isn’t worth it. I’ll fake it instead. And you should too.

Some important tips to remember…

1. Always use a broad spectrum sunscreen. These protect against both UVA and UVB rays, both of which are damaging.

2. While sunscreen is an imperative step, don’t forget to protect your eyes with some sunnies and double your dose of sun protection with a hat too.

3. The majority of skin damage occurs before your fifteenth birthday, so if you have a child, or are a youngster yourself, please, please, please slap that ‘screen on before the damage is done.

Tell me Happies…

Are you a serial tanner?

What do you do to protect yourself?

Are you going to sign up to No Tan Jan? Go on…

4 comments

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention No Tan Jan, let’s jump on board | The Happiness Cocktail -- Topsy.com
  2. Elle · December 8, 2010

    Hello Yaz!! Fab blog, lovely girl! And I totes agree! How can sunbeds STILL be going on!! Grrrrrr!! Fake it baby!!! mwuahhhhhhhhh

  3. tegan · December 8, 2010

    I will definitely be signing up to No Tan Jan, but as I am already like you Yaz (sunscreen, hat, sunnies EVERYWHERE) it’s not really that much of a feat for me. I really think that it is important that while everyone needs to slip slop slap, the also realise that it isnt a cure all, and you may still get cancer even if you are like me and are vigilant (I had to get a mole cut out of my hand earlier this year, I am only 20 years old and have worn sunscreen everyday since I was about 14). The best bet is not to risk it at all, and make sure you slip, slop, slap AND keep under an umbrella/shade/out of the sun between 10 – 3 in summer. Even though you have sunscreen on and it is a fabulous protectant, baking on the beach is dangerous! Even worse in a solarium! x

  4. crystaldance · January 14, 2011

    It’s SO important to be sun smart!
    I am PALE pale. Which means ten minutes in the sun is enough to see me turn red. It wasn’t fun growing up – but I love that ideas are turning around now and I don’t feel like I HAVE to be tanned (contrary to the Aussie culture). I like a good fake tan, but in all honesty – I’m so pale that if I fake tan when everyone else is fake tanning… I’m still whiter! haha!

    What I DON’T believe is that I still talk to people that think “If I only use the solarium SOMETIMES it’s not really that bad for me!”. I wish they would realise that ANY exposure to a solarium will be doing you damage!

    My grandfather is getting multiple skin cancers cut out now and it’s not fun. I see the discomfort he’s undergoing. Another lesser known fact – he’s also having surgery for cataracts – and you’re likelihood of this increases without proper UV sunglasses!!

Leave a Reply

