Make small goals, and achieve them regularly

I’m fortunate enough to be in Manila this week, Happies, and as a part of my trip, I had the immense pleasure of meeting Madame Sol, a seventy-year-old Avon representative who’s part celebrity, part multi-millionaire here in the Philippines.

She’s been with Avon for thirty two years. And a door-to-door sales women for forty six years here in the nation’s capital, and let me tell you now, she doesn’t plan on slowing down any time soon.

Aside from her celebrity status – Madame Sol arrives by car, with her own driver, and is greeted with bows and wide-eyes from the staff at Avon HQ – she is also one of the most humble, inspiration women I have ever met. She’s hilariously funny, smart, and so intent on helping the women of Philippines create a business of their own and become as successful as she is (which, mind you, is in excess of US$2 million dollars a year) that every word she speaks is about the company and business. It’s hard to see her think about anything else.

Here we are at the biggest Avon ‘branch’ in Manila…

Her story is like so many others. She was a housewife and wanted to contribute to the family in a more financial way. Her husband was a successful lawyer, but she felt the desire to do something more. She started small, and grew the business and herself into the longest standing and most successful Avon Leader in the country.

For me, it was inspirational seeing someone of her age and her successes be so humble about it. Sure, she’s proud of her achievements and dripping in expensive jewellery, but after quizzing her about her secrets to success, she simply said ‘have patience. I didn’t create this overnight, I’ve dedicated my life to it, and now, it’s paid off.’ She also said at the beginning, she set small goals and achieved them regularly to keep her confidence up and momentum going, rather than setting unachievable goals that were few and far between.

She also wrote all her goals down, and when she felt like quitting or she wasn’t having a good week, she’d pull out that little piece of paper with her dream on it, and get back to work.

I have to agree with Madame Sol, writing your goals down and working towards them is a magical way of ensuring they come true. On those days where things aren’t looking like they’re going your way, pull it out, remember your purpose and carry on. It’s that simple.

Now, I’m off to write to down my goals for tomorrow, screw that six month notion, it’s far too far away.

Now tell me Happies…

Do you set small goals?

What about writing your goals down?

Does Madame Sol look seventy to you? Seriously.

Stay Happy,

Yx

8 comments

  1. tegan · December 2, 2010

    wow what an inspirational lady! it is great that she has become so successful!
    PS. I love manilla, have the best time! xx

  2. Lilpil · December 2, 2010

    Yas – she looks like an older sister, not 70 at all.

    Thank you for the reminder, I so agree about writing goals down. On real paper (rather than on the screen), it just seems more real and tangible. I’m off to write mine too now before I lose the motivate and chicken out πŸ™‚

  3. Nikki Parkinson · December 2, 2010

    Great post – how wonderful is it to meet such inspirational people? I do write down my goals but something I’m not good at is checking on them on a regular basis to see (and dream) on how they’re going.

  4. crystaldance · December 4, 2010

    Quite the queen of unrealistic goals, it’s something I think I’m going to have to practice.

    Madame Sol sound absolutely amazing and I always love finding those who are humble in the most unlikeliest of places…

    It’s amazing to hear a simple sentence “I have patience, I didn’t create this overnight, I’ve dedicated my life to it…” and have it ring so true. It reminds you of what you always really know, deep down inside.

  5. kathy mere-smith · December 6, 2010

    She’s 70??! omg she looks amazing.. as do you.. i loove that dress πŸ™‚
    I always think about writing down my goals and future plans and i never do but i’m gonna go do it now!!
    thanks for the inspiration πŸ™‚

    • Yaz Turker · December 7, 2010

      I know, I couldn’t believe it when she told me. I thought she was mid to late 50s. Insane.

  6. Pingback: Make Your Mark on 2011 | The Happiness Cocktail
  7. Angel Walker · October 16, 2013

    Why visitors still use to read news papers when inn this technological globe the whole thing is presented on
    net?

Leave a Reply

