Don’t eat fruit on a full stomach

You know that right? I didn’t, until my insanely nutritious boyfriend warned me of the consequences. You see, I was bloated, gassy and found that eating fruit actually made my stomach burn. I knew it was good for me, so had no idea why it felt so bad.

And then we assessed the situation. I would eat fruit after breakfast, or after dinner. On a full tummy. Like most people. In fact, fruit is often classified as a dessert. Something a little sweet (yet healthy) to snack on after a meal. Right? NO! Not right.

Here’s why: Fruit is, as we know, high in sugar. What this means is that it ferments in your body quickly. Plus, it’s also known to be digested pretty fast. When you combine those two properties, and have the fruit going into your system after a big steak, or protein/carb rich meal, it’s going to get stuck in a traffic jam. Inside your body.

Think about it this way. There’s a racing car (i.e fruit) speeding down the highway with no other cars on the road. It happily glides down the autobahn with no interruptions and as a result, arrives safely at the other end in record time (assuming there’s no such thing as speed kills).

Then picture this scenario: The racing car is stuck behind a family wagon, carrying a caravan on the back and slowing traffic to a relative standstill. That’s not ideal, is it? The highway it blocked, the road is slow and as a result, the racing car starts to rust. And that’s what happens when you eat fruit on a full stomach. All those sugars start to ferment, causing you all kinds of irritation including bloating and tummy pains.

One of the greatest benefits of eating fruit is that it alkalizes your system. In an alkaline environment, your body works much more effectively, so by having fruit first thing in the morning, or two hours after a meal, you allow it to do its job much more efficiently. Without the bloat or jelly belly. Much better. Now, where’s that mango…

Tell me Happies…

Do you eat fruit on an empty stomach?

Do you find you get bloated after eating fruit on a full stomach?

3 comments

  1. akisa · November 17, 2010

    Thanks yaz! I’m a culprit of eating fruit after brekkie and dinner.. seriously need to change those eating habits!!

  2. evc · November 17, 2010

    The WAY you eat fruit makes a huge difference in your diet. I started rearranging my ‘line of traffic’ after reading the book ‘Skinny Bitch’. There is practically a whole chapter committed to fruit and pooping – which, strangely enough, seem to work rather well together when done right. Let’s just say the ‘Skinny Bitch’ approach to fruit is a very cheap alternative to colonics^^
    Great post, I love reading your stuff ❀

  3. Nadia · November 2, 2011

    I’m currently trawling my way through all the older posts on your blog after recently discovering it, and I have to say, I’m so glad I came across this one! On a mission to be healthier and more conscious of what goes into my body, I had some fruit after dinner last night. I don’t appear to have suffered any ill effects from it so far, but what you’ve written above makes total sense. I saw you recommended meringues as an alternative to another reader. That sounds terrific so I’ll have to try that instead. Thankyou!

Leave a Reply

