Don’t ever be three feet away from success

My amazingly wise and wonderful sister, Leyla (we call her Lesly Gherkin, it’s a long story but feel free to call her that too) is on the same yoga, meditation, happiness journey that I, and many of you are on, too. She’s my go-to chick, the one I call upon when I’m having a bad day or feeling flat or wondering what my purpose in life is. I plan on having her on The Happiness Cocktail so that you can have a Lesly Gherkin in your life, too. She’s clever, I love her.

I especially love her when she tells me profoundly uplifting and motivating stories, encouraging me to realise that there are no limits in the tiny microcosm of work, home, family, friends and food that we call life. We all have unlimited potential, Happy’s, so why limit ourselves to thinking we don’t?

Lesly is currently reading the book Think and Grow Rich by Napoleon Hill (by the way, awesome name Napoleon, you were born to be some kind of rockstar.) In the book, Napster shares the story of R.U Darby and his uncle, who go off to ‘get rich’ by digging for gold. They borrowed money from their relo’s and neighbours in order to buy machinery and dug and dug and dug. They struck gold. Hooray!

However, their debts were yet to be cleared and after sending their machinery down again they were pretty pissed off to discover that the second round had been an absolute disaster. They got nothing. So, they quit. Suckers!

We’ve all had times in our lives where we wanted to quit. Things got hard, annoying, tiring, boring… whatever the case may be, I don’t know of one person who hasn’t quit at least one thing in their years. I, for one, have quit heaps of things: Kung Fu lessons after 1 class (too hard), swimming squad after making the national team (too many early mornings), Agricultrual Economics at Sydney Uni after 1 year (now that, in retrospect, was a blessing), however, my point is that we all quit for various reasons, mainly because we can’t be bothered or are too scared to continue.

Here’s the problem with quitting (as kindly demonstrated by R.U Darby and his uncle) – you forfeit your chance at success. By giving up, you hand over the reigns to someone else so that they can ride in, pick up where you left off and in turn, become the winner you always wanted to be.

Such is the case with Mr. Darby. After quitting they went on to sell their machinery to a junk man for a few hundred bucks.

The junk man used his infinite wisdom to ascertain that the Darby’s were quitters and that there was, of course, more gold to be found. So, he cleverly called in a mining engineer to do some research before using the Darby’s machery to dig in the spots he’d been advised. Here’s what happend: Mr. Junk found an insane amount of gold only THREE FEET away from where the Darby’s had literally packed up their shit and bailed. THREE FEET. I don’t do numbers (or conversions for that matter) but I can tell you three feet is a bee’s dick away from success.

So, here’s the moral of the story. Never give up! Never pack up your machinery because you hit a dry patch, or because things got too hard, or too scary. Never be three feet away from success because if you leave it behind, someone is bound to come and scoop it up from where you left off  and steal the success and happiness that is meant to be yours. And that, simply cannot happen.

Tell me Happy’s…

Have you ever given up on something?

Have you got a mentor or wise old (young) owl in your life or do you want to ask Lesly something? She can seriously give advice on anything from boys to bills, she’s awesome.

10 comments

  1. Sam Molineux · October 29, 2010

    Thanks for sharing Yaz, this is a really great read:-)

  2. Laura · October 29, 2010

    Thank you lovely Yaz : ) I needed that today! xx

  3. tegan · October 29, 2010

    thanks Yaz! that’s defintitely helped me today!

  4. Abi · October 29, 2010

    This piece could not have been posted at a more convenient time! Thank you so much Yaz. Xx

  5. Zoe · October 30, 2010

    Hehe, ‘a bee’s dick’ made me giggle. I have a new fave saying 🙂

    Great post Yaz! Just what I need right now, what with uni exams coming up. I’ve given up on too many things, when if I’d just tried a bit harder I could have had great success. Thanks for reminding me not to give up.

  6. Suzie · October 31, 2010

    Am so thrilled you have a blog. You’re writing style is divine xx

  7. megs1801 · November 1, 2010

    My mentor is my bestie, Fiona. Even though she is currently living overseas, I can still text/email/call her any time and I always get an open. honest and all-encompassing analogy of my latest freak-out! I heart her very much. After 21 years of friendship I am just happy I can be there to do the same for her 🙂

  8. millie · November 3, 2010

    looovvved this post, if I think of a question for Lesly Ill write again xxx

  9. Annette @ Wellness WA · November 14, 2010

    Haha oh darling, bees dick!

    This is a great story and now I would really like to read that book!

  10. Pingback: Five ridiculously cheap ways to chill out | The Happiness Cocktail

Leave a Reply

