Natural, organic and certified organic beauty products you really should be trying

The natural, organic and certified organic beauty arena is more complex than a week in the life of Lindsay Lohan. Unfortunately due to the industry being largely unregulated, there are many opportunities for money hungry companies cashing in on this rapidly growing industry.

So here, today, right now in fact, I’m going to take you through some of my favourite brands that sit under each category, to make the shopping process that much easier. Winner!

Oh, and before we dive in, if you’d like to know more about each category, why not scoot over to PRIMPED and then come back, I’ve broken it down into bite sized pieces over there so that you can understand what each category actually means, and why products are classified in this way.

Oh great, you’re back… Let’s get cracking.

1. Natural.


Burt’s Bees Avocado Butter Hair Treatment, $19.95

Dr. Hauschka Almond St. Jonh’s Wort Body Oil, $50

Yes To Blueberries Age Refresh Daily Repairing Moisturizer, $34.95

Jurlique 25th Anniversary Limited Edition Herbal Recovery Gel, $155

2. Organic.

True Solutions Cleanser, $70

KORA By Miranda Kerr Exfoliating Cream, $54.95

3. Certified Organic

Aum Rejuvenating Rose Hip Oil, $22.95

Endota Spa Certified Organic Bush Honey Skin Drink, $50

 

While each of the above brands have differing reasons for remaining within their category, I can safely say that each of these products is an absolute winner. Whether is the ultra-hydrating body oil from our dear Dr. Hauschka, or Miranda Kerr’s delightful exfoliator that is sure to clear the dirt out of your pores, I’m happy to pass these good-for-you treats onto you, Happy’s.

Just a word of warning though, make sure you always check the packaging when you’re on the hunt for a natural or organic skincare product, as sometimes they are mislabeled. Oh, and if you’re looking for a certified organic stamp that actually means something, the USDA and the O.F.C stamps are the most reliable.

Tell me Happy’s…

What do you think of these products?

Have you tried any of them?

Are you baffled about natural beauty or have it all covered?

6 comments

  1. Annette @ Wellness WA · October 29, 2010

    Hi Yaz,

    I adore your new blog concept, it’s something I’m constantly working on myself and aiming for on my blog too! πŸ™‚

    I have to say I really want to try the Burt’s Bees Avo hair mask & Endota Honey Bush Skin Drink now! They both sound diiiiiiiivine.

    I’ve tried the Kora and am a fan for night time use… but I think that’s about the only organic product I’ve got.

    I dooo try and eat organic fruit & veg as much as possible and always feel a little bit better for doing so.

    Can’t wait to read more xx

  2. Laura Lollie · November 3, 2010

    Hi Yaz

    Firstly, lovin the Blog! Also read your insight on Primped, so thank you x 2!

    My understanding is a little different. I thought there were no regulations in Australia on Natural or Organic. And you could only really trust Certified Organic as it had been approved by a goverened Body?

    Anyway I like pretty much all your favourites here. Especially the Endota products. But my next favourite is Shizen, I simply can’t live without my Shizen Lip Products.

    Anyway til next time! LL

  3. crystaldance · November 4, 2010

    I love natural and organic products… They make you feel so clean (and morally fresh as well!).

    I have a question though about products in general – is it ok to mix and match or are you going to get the best effect by sticking with one skincare range. I am refering mainly to the typical skincare routine – cleanser, exfoliate, toner, moisturizer… I was one for keeping with a singular brand, but out of curiosity I’ve been expanding (at first to the detriment of my skin, but it seems to have agreed with me for the meantime again). I can’t see why there would be a problem using different products, but do companies develop those ranges with complimentary effects in mind?

    Just curious.

  4. george&georgia · November 12, 2010

    Hey Yaz, I have a question…

    (ps. totally looovvee your new groove on this blog)

    Anyway all this organic stuff is great, but I’ve tried it all. Not literally but you know what I mean.

    You see, I have super duper sensitive skin. AND on top of that its ALWAYS dry. I’ve tried everything. But I always have to apply moisturiser every few hours. My face is driving me crazy from its high maintenance nature.

    Can you suggest anything? I was actually going to lodge this as a question for ‘Primped’ on the website, but I was browsing your blog and thought, hell why not just blurt all over your blog space?

    Please help beauty queen.

    x

    • Yaz Turker · November 15, 2010

      No worries at all. At the moment I am using the new range of products from The Jojoba Company and I have to say, the stuff is INSANE. I’m obsessed. It’s especially great for dry, sensitive skin and the product that may very well change your life is the Natural Jojoba Oil. It’s actually a wax but it feels like a soothing oil and your skin will love it. Promise.

      • Georgia · January 19, 2011

        Thank you so much for this suggestion! I bought it straight away and so far my skin is feeling a lot better. Still has its days but it’s fab compared to before. Your a gem πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

